Still cannot make it with clips starting at different offset

Share your favorite Ableton Live tips, tricks, and techniques.
alvarez

Still cannot make it with clips starting at different offset

Post by alvarez » Wed Jun 16, 2004 3:39 pm

Hi!

I am new to Live 3. I have at the moment 3 new projects to use with Live, all of them, really to perform live. One of the bigger problems I find now is that I cannot fire a whole scene with 4-5 tracks, where some tracks starts at beat 1 and some tracks starts one 1/16 or 1/8-note before. In musical terms, some tracks are melodies that starts before the down beat, something that happen very very often in music. Because of the nature of my music, with lots of influences from Cuban music (I am a Cuban producer/musician), some lines are very rhythmic and syncopated, with loops starting on the 4th beat or even on the last 1/16th note and some others starting on the 1st beat. I tried with negative offset but does not work at all. What I want is to have all the down beats in the same line, and just move the starting points of the clips. Sorry if my english is not so good.

Is there some tips to achieve that wihtout breaking the magic of Live 3?

Thanks in advance!!!

alvarez

Re: Still cannot make it with clips starting at different offset

Post by Guest » Wed Jun 16, 2004 4:15 pm

three words

volume clip envelope

alvarez

Post by alvarez » Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:45 pm

Please please please!!!

Can you be more specific? I just try this volume clip envelop and that doesnt work for me. I repeat these are melodies, some are even one-shot clips, not loops. So when I want to fire into a scene together with other clips, they dont start on the right note because they must start BEFORE THE OTHER CLIPS THAT START ON THE ONE.