Dual Screen Users: Hotkey script to open all VST plug-ins!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Dual Screen Users: Hotkey script to open all VST plug-ins!

Post by djsynchro » Wed May 07, 2008 11:37 pm

If, like me, you have one monitor for Live, and one for all your VST plugs you will have noticed that Live closes them all when you load a set.

Annoying, because when you have "auto hide" plug-ins on, you can set it so that when you select a track, your plugs open on your 2nd screen, Live saves their window positions - but first you have to manually open them.... with the mouse! Aargh!!! 8O

So here's a script that does it for you:
http://www.sendspace.com/file/jxc1u4

Mak sure "Auto hide plug-ins" is on.
After you load a set for the first time, press the hotkey for the script and it will select a track, open all the plug-ins, select the next track, and so on until it has opened them all, after that you can select a track and all your plugs will open.

Make sure to read the included text file, and make sure you follow all the instructions, or it won't work, it's a bit of a dirty hack. Skins supported 7 "default" and "5.2default" (5.2 Included in the Zip)
Resolution 1680 x 1050 but it's really easy to change the script for other resolutions. Read the text file!

Let's hope this leads to Ableton giving us an options.txt entry
"VstPluginsShowOnLoad" or something like that.


:D
Last edited by djsynchro on Fri Mar 27, 2009 8:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Alien Leg
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Austria

Post by Alien Leg » Thu May 08, 2008 11:09 am

Thanx very much for that!
I really do hope Ableton implements it sometime.
Win XP Pro SP3, Live 7
Q9450@3.2Ghz, 4 GB RAM,
BCF2000, M-Audio Audiophile 2496, Mindprint TRIO

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by djsynchro » Thu May 08, 2008 3:48 pm

bump

flipotto
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 4:28 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: Dual Screen Users: Hotkey script to open all VST plug-ins!

Post by flipotto » Wed Mar 25, 2009 5:03 pm

Did this get mixed in with the definitive script?
I have been playing with autohotkey, lots of fun.

friend_kami
Posts: 2255
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:10 pm

Re: Dual Screen Users: Hotkey script to open all VST plug-ins!

Post by friend_kami » Thu Mar 26, 2009 1:43 am

i just want to be able to open the plugin window in the selected track. not all, just the selected track.
ill guess ill take a look at the script and see if i can modify it to my needs ;)

trainwreck
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 1:39 am

Re: Dual Screen Users: Hotkey script to open all VST plug-ins!

Post by trainwreck » Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:20 am

could someone please repost as i missed the orignal share of this file.
thanks !

flipotto
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 4:28 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: Dual Screen Users: Hotkey script to open all VST plug-ins!

Post by flipotto » Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:28 am

trainwreck wrote:could someone please repost as i missed the orignal share of this file.
thanks !
I think it is contained in the definitive script... do a search for that.
I am not sure tho...

flipotto
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 4:28 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: Dual Screen Users: Hotkey script to open all VST plug-ins!

Post by flipotto » Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:30 am

friend_kami wrote:i just want to be able to open the plugin window in the selected track. not all, just the selected track.
ill guess ill take a look at the script and see if i can modify it to my needs ;)
Hey are these tuts yours at IDM?
Why not post them here?
I could not see all of them cuz I'm not reged.

friend_kami
Posts: 2255
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:10 pm

Re: Dual Screen Users: Hotkey script to open all VST plug-ins!

Post by friend_kami » Thu Mar 26, 2009 3:59 pm

those are mine yes, and i have already posted them here before. :)

UKRuss
Posts: 5044
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:32 am

Re: Dual Screen Users: Hotkey script to open all VST plug-ins!

Post by UKRuss » Thu Mar 26, 2009 4:17 pm

Wish I knew what the hell you were talking about, sounds like a good thing...but alas I am a mac user for a reason.

friend_kami
Posts: 2255
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:10 pm

Re: Dual Screen Users: Hotkey script to open all VST plug-ins!

Post by friend_kami » Thu Mar 26, 2009 4:35 pm

UKRuss wrote:Wish I knew what the hell you were talking about, sounds like a good thing...but alas I am a mac user for a reason.

bomes midi translator is for mac aswell though. although you guys have midipipe aswell. bastards :p

UKRuss
Posts: 5044
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:32 am

Re: Dual Screen Users: Hotkey script to open all VST plug-ins!

Post by UKRuss » Thu Mar 26, 2009 5:59 pm

I was meaning things more like 'hotkey' and 'script'

No idea what those thigns are or what I would do with them. :D

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Dual Screen Users: Hotkey script to open all VST plug-ins!

Post by djsynchro » Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:20 pm

my hotkeys script doesn't work anymore since I moved from AMD3200 to Quadcore... I need to rewrite it but I can't be fucked at the moment... :o

flipotto
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 4:28 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: Dual Screen Users: Hotkey script to open all VST plug-ins!

Post by flipotto » Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:39 pm

djsynchro wrote:my hotkeys script doesn't work anymore since I moved from AMD3200 to Quadcore... I need to rewrite it but I can't be fucked at the moment... :o
The script is not there any more...
It needs a more stable home.
Post it again, let us take a look.

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Dual Screen Users: Hotkey script to open all VST plug-ins!

Post by djsynchro » Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:51 pm

let me dig it out & i'll post it hang on...

Post Reply