All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: b11 - Track Solo Does Not Automate When Recorded
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:53 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 8:02 am
Posts: 48
There is still no way to automate track soloing...???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 3:47 pm 

Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:59 pm
Posts: 5877
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Hi,

No, there is not. You can post in the forum Wishlist if you like. I'll move this thread there anyway, as the Live 8 beta bugs section is reserved for Live 8 bugs.

Regards,
Amaury

_________________
Ableton Specification Team
amaury.groc@ableton.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 4:05 pm 

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 3460
It has never been possible.
+1 for this feature.

_________________
http://www.chapelierfou.com
Mac OS 10.6, L8 and L9, M4L.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 4:29 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 8:02 am
Posts: 48
Yeah, it would simplify mixing. Logic has had it for ages. Wonder if Ableton's tech framework makes it difficult or what? Seems like a simple add.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 5:31 pm 

Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:59 pm
Posts: 5877
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Hi,

It's more of a specification problem: solo are generally a good tool for, well, soloing a track while you're doing a mix or whatever of the kind. Once you've automated your solos, how are you supposed to use the solo-as-diagnosis feature?

So I guess there are use cases where it still would be desirable to have something looking like solo-automation, for instance, to record a perfomance featuring soloing. But that needs to not come in the way of people using solo as solo switches while mixing/listening to their track.

Regards,
Amaury

_________________
Ableton Specification Team
amaury.groc@ableton.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 5:38 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 8:02 am
Posts: 48
I see your point. If you had an additional master solo automation button on/off, then solo could still be used for diagnosing a track in an automated mix. I believe that Logic has this feature. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 7:42 am 

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 6:30 am
Posts: 38
Location: San Francisco
I also would like to have the option of automating solo. Good argument for not automating it, but on the other hand, I would love to be able to solo my return tracks at certain points as part of the performance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: b11 - Track Solo Does Not Automate When Recorded
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:13 am 

Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Posts: 1543
Location: Belgium
I was about to create a topic for solo automation, but here it already exists :mrgreen:

+1000 for solo automation, it's a shame because it's the obvious one_ and it lacks

Come on Abes, are we forced to wait after Live 9 for this?

_________________
...GaelC...

___°___

PANDARIUM free compilation-CLICK for download


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: b11 - Track Solo Does Not Automate When Recorded
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 10:53 pm 

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 11:16 pm
Posts: 60
Location: San Francisco
GROUP SOLO RECORD!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: b11 - Track Solo Does Not Automate When Recorded
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 3:14 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 7:56 am
Posts: 51
Location: Augsburg
Amaury wrote:
Hi,



It's more of a specification problem: solo are generally a good tool for, well, soloing a track while you're doing a mix or whatever of the kind. Once you've automated your solos, how are you supposed to use the solo-as-diagnosis feature?



So I guess there are use cases where it still would be desirable to have something looking like solo-automation, for instance, to record a perfomance featuring soloing. But that needs to not come in the way of people using solo as solo switches while mixing/listening to their track.
Amaury


at first it looks like an argument but i think it's not that important. people do tons of weird stuff during their mixing process - like equalizing. there is automation for that too, isn't it? i suppose soloing is a little bit different but not too much... now that i think about it: theres the function for exclusive soloing what could be used during the mixing of a track that has solo automation.

thing is: if you perform you definitely want to use solo buttons for breaks etc because they are straightforward (there might already exist some workaraounds that arent straightforward) and if you listen to the recorded perfomance (i actually build tracks from the session view - the jam way of live...) the break is just gone.

thats really lame. and its a pain in the ass.
+1
some people i spoke about it didnt understand it neither, and complaint about it.
so another +2

just would be great to have...

cheers
max

_________________
________________
so much equipment so little time to create


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: b11 - Track Solo Does Not Automate When Recorded
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:56 am 

Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 6:31 pm
Posts: 4
+9... came here looking for where to find this in Live. Nowhere!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: b11 - Track Solo Does Not Automate When Recorded
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:43 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:34 pm
Posts: 83
I have just re-discovered that ableton does not record solo automation

After facepalming for several long minutes, I have now taken a long deep breath, logged into the ableton forums, to request that this feature (feature? lol) be implemented. Please.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:57 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:34 pm
Posts: 83
Amaury wrote:
Hi,

It's more of a specification problem: solo are generally a good tool for, well, soloing a track while you're doing a mix or whatever of the kind. Once you've automated your solos, how are you supposed to use the solo-as-diagnosis feature?
Amaury



Hi Amaury.. this is why.. a lot of users use Solo as an arrangement tool. Especially those of us who use Live as in the way it is presented as.. as a hands on, realtime, loop arrangement environment. A great way to arrange with loops is to use mute & solo automation as part of the arrangement process.

I would like to do as much initial arrangement as possible in realtime recording, with volumes, sends, mutes & solos all controlled externally and recorded - it's a dub way of realtime mixing / arranging, of which solo is a key part.

Live's is more honed to this than any of the other sequencers, so it doesn't follow that it should be one of the few (the only?) that doesn't support solo automation.

A lot of us would very much appreciate that it did.. & I imagine very few (if any) like the fact that it currently doesn't.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=10594&hilit=+solo+automate
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4316&hilit=+solo+automate


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:25 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:43 pm
Posts: 208
Location: Eugene, OR, USA
wmayhem wrote:
I see your point. If you had an additional master solo automation button on/off, then solo could still be used for diagnosing a track in an automated mix.


That seems like the solution right there...

One button for recording live solos, and another for on/off previewing that can't be recorded...

+1 for that solution :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: b11 - Track Solo Does Not Automate When Recorded
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2013 4:24 am 

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:07 am
Posts: 278
+1


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group