AKAI MPD32 Drum pad question

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
cram2012
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:35 am

AKAI MPD32 Drum pad question

Post by cram2012 » Wed Apr 06, 2011 9:41 pm

I just bought the MPD32. I own the MPC 1000 and ultimately like the Akai brand. I immediately noticed the drum pads were not as dynamic, even after adjusting the sensitivity, threshold, ect. Aside from that the note options allow you to select "momentary" triggering, or "toggle." Is there a way to have it trigger the sample to play 1 time all the way through and then stop? w/o having to toggle the pad back off and then on? similar to MPC ability to select "one shot?"

I can adjust the release on my sample I am triggering which accomplishes this. but wanted to see if there was a setting on MPD to select.....

Overall what are other users impression of the MPD32 vs say Maschine or others?

cmreal04
Posts: 721
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:27 am

Re: AKAI MPD32 Drum pad question

Post by cmreal04 » Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:14 am

cram2012 wrote:I just bought the MPD32. I own the MPC 1000 and ultimately like the Akai brand. I immediately noticed the drum pads were not as dynamic, even after adjusting the sensitivity, threshold, ect. Aside from that the note options allow you to select "momentary" triggering, or "toggle." Is there a way to have it trigger the sample to play 1 time all the way through and then stop? w/o having to toggle the pad back off and then on? similar to MPC ability to select "one shot?"

I can adjust the release on my sample I am triggering which accomplishes this. but wanted to see if there was a setting on MPD to select.....

Overall what are other users impression of the MPD32 vs say Maschine or others?
Your not missing a setting, the pads suck!!! I just took mine back and got a pad kontrol and a nano kontrol instead. The pads on the kontrol and maschine seem to be almost identical, which are both the best offerings out there.

FYI pad kontrol also has a foot pedal jack.....must have for the looper plug.
Ableton 9, Feeltune Rhizome, Focusrite Pro, Mpk249....

kb420
Posts: 2740
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:35 am
Location: Cydonia on the 4th Planet

Re: AKAI MPD32 Drum pad question

Post by kb420 » Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:42 am

cram2012 wrote:I just bought the MPD32. I own the MPC 1000 and ultimately like the Akai brand. I immediately noticed the drum pads were not as dynamic, even after adjusting the sensitivity, threshold, ect. Aside from that the note options allow you to select "momentary" triggering, or "toggle." Is there a way to have it trigger the sample to play 1 time all the way through and then stop? w/o having to toggle the pad back off and then on? similar to MPC ability to select "one shot?"

I can adjust the release on my sample I am triggering which accomplishes this. but wanted to see if there was a setting on MPD to select.....

Overall what are other users impression of the MPD32 vs say Maschine or others?
The MPD32 doesn't have it's own ADSR envelope.

I haven't bought this yet, but you may want to give this a try for extra sensitivity:

http://www.mpcstuff.com/akmpcmpdthfa2.html

Image
Last edited by kb420 on Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
H20nly wrote:fuck Bitwig.

Zeddy
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:50 pm
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: AKAI MPD32 Drum pad question

Post by Zeddy » Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:43 am

I think you should definitely check these out:

http://cgi.ebay.ca/Akai-MPD-Pad-Sensiti ... 563wt_1063

They are little rubber pieces that you stick under the pads and they were a pretty dramatic improvement for my MPD18.

cmreal04
Posts: 721
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:27 am

Re: AKAI MPD32 Drum pad question

Post by cmreal04 » Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:59 am

Yeah that's a great idea, why doesn't everyone spend extra money to fix Akai's f'd up products, sounds like a great idea ! Just return it and buy something better, it won't be hard, Akai hasn't got it right since the mpd24, more features yeah, but the the pads hella worse.
Ableton 9, Feeltune Rhizome, Focusrite Pro, Mpk249....

cram2012
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:35 am

Re: AKAI MPD32 Drum pad question

Post by cram2012 » Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:03 am

thanks for all the input....you guys are quick!

I purchased off Amazon, so I may return it. I like the design. Faders, knobs ect, but seems Akai did themselves a disservice on the pads. I may test drive a few others and see what has the best feel to it.

brunnberg
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 7:11 am

Re: AKAI MPD32 Drum pad question

Post by brunnberg » Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:14 pm

I did like this guy in the video, works pretty good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hZViS288WH4

ansiaaa
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:57 pm
Location: Italy

Re: AKAI MPD32 Drum pad question

Post by ansiaaa » Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:03 pm

every controller Akai released lately have the same problem with the pads.
the fix shown in the vid works very well, I tried myself on my MPK and it was like day and night.
if you have a thin rubber sheet it's even better than using tape.

or if you want to spend some money, the upgraded pads from mpcstuff are awesome too

Post Reply