Logic Pro X

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Logic Pro X

Post by beats me » Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:00 pm

Rumors flying that this will drop soon.

I’m somewhat more excited about this than Live 9, but also concerned. The recent release of Final Cut Pro X was a big disappointment to a lot of long time users because Apple removed a lot of popular features and completely changed the workflow in other areas. Users were calling it iMovie Pro. I hope Apple doesn’t go along the same lines with Logic and releases Garageband Pro. There’s also rumors that some of the features that come standard with Logic now will be changed to pay for add-ons like Main Stage and Soundtrack Pro.

Really what I’m hoping for is they make Logic more streamlined and less cumbersome (more Live-like?). Just one example I can think of is to feed a MIDI track to an audio track you have to feed the MIDI track to a bus track and then from the bus track to an audio track. Stupid middle man shit like that needs to go.

Discuss.

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: Logic Pro X

Post by pencilrocket » Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:19 pm

Logic X will be around $200 as they have FCPX price droped around 1/3.
Image

Tarekith
Posts: 17255
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro X

Post by Tarekith » Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:23 pm

I'm with you on the routing issue, at least it's doable in Logic now though, for a long time it wasn't. I ALWAYS record softsynths right to audio tracks as I play them, so this is crucial for me (and one reason I don't use StudioOne, which is think is awesome otherwise).

Personally, I really think Logic is overdue a massive overhaul, even if it pisses off some power users. The audio editing is archaic compared to most DAWs, and in many ways I think it's way too bloated for 99% of users.

chapelier fou
Posts: 4871
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Logic Pro X

Post by chapelier fou » Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:31 pm

Just curious, Tarekith, why do you always record the audio from softsynths ?
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

steko
Posts: 3347
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:29 pm

Re: Logic Pro X

Post by steko » Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:41 pm

To prevent himself from endlessly midi-editing?
Rahad Jackson wrote:My Awesome Mix Tape #6

RECYCLE BIN
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:13 am

Re: Logic Pro X

Post by RECYCLE BIN » Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:48 pm

Im all for an App store version since I've never used Logic and wouldnt miss any present features.

7redBl@dder
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 6:09 pm
Location: the holloway road

Re: Logic Pro X

Post by 7redBl@dder » Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:21 pm

Only last weekend i wiped logic express 9 from my hard drive.
I never got on with it,too cumbersome for me,i'd rather have a
few more gb hard drive space.Won't be upgrading i'm sure Apple
will shit all over their userbase with logic x.

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: Logic Pro X

Post by pencilrocket » Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:31 pm

chapelier fou wrote:Just curious, Tarekith, why do you always record the audio from softsynths ?
Yea I'm curious too. Freezing is needed only when it hogs CPU for me.
Image

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: Logic Pro X

Post by beats me » Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:32 pm

Tarekith wrote:I'm with you on the routing issue, at least it's doable in Logic now though, for a long time it wasn't. I ALWAYS record softsynths right to audio tracks as I play them, so this is crucial for me (and one reason I don't use StudioOne, which is think is awesome otherwise).

Personally, I really think Logic is overdue a massive overhaul, even if it pisses off some power users. The audio editing is archaic compared to most DAWs, and in many ways I think it's way too bloated for 99% of users.


I put out a solid effort to do everything in Logic and while I did get further along in songs due to the lack of endless noodling you often get using Live I still didn’t complete a track (my big enemy: Endless stacking regardless of DAW). But I did run into things that are just effortless in Live that are a bit of a head scratcher with Logic. Then I put some time into Maschine and that made more sense with Live with dragging patterns from Maschine into clips in Live for experimentation and editing. I’m wondering if Apple is considering introducing something like Live’s clip matrix since other developers seem to be adding something similar to their software. Beyond Main Stage Logic is really falling behind in the performance and pattern based experimentation and writing department.

Then there’s the possibility that they add some of the features they introduced in Garageband for iPad like the instruments that practically play themselves in key and drum pattern building and variations based on grid placement.

And doubtful, but it would be nice if Apple made their own idevice controller app. I’m sure the Logic developers are more than just a little interested in doing that.

Also Apple is having a keynote some time this month and traditionally this is the time of the year when the keynote is music focused (ipod, itunes, iCloud match this year). So it would make sense for them to also have news about Logic.

Rave
Posts: 6151
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 9:26 am

Re: Logic Pro X

Post by Rave » Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:35 pm

Now that my installation of live is fooked I have switched to Cubase which tbh sounds that little bit better. I can't see myself trying logic since I have cubase 6 which also has eucon support for my Euphonix mixing desk :)

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: Logic Pro X

Post by beats me » Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:45 pm

pencilrocket wrote:
chapelier fou wrote:Just curious, Tarekith, why do you always record the audio from softsynths ?
Yea I'm curious too. Freezing is needed only when it hogs CPU for me.

I can’t speak for Tarekith, but I’ve heard many other PRO producers often convert MIDI to audio as quickly as possible and as has been suggested it’s because it does somewhat commit to the sound which can still be edited with effects and chopping but you won’t be wasting a lot of time micro editing parameters on the sound source plug-in.

jrob6716
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 4:45 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro X

Post by jrob6716 » Thu Sep 08, 2011 7:11 pm

beats me wrote:Rumors flying that this will drop soon.

I’m somewhat more excited about this than Live 9, but also concerned. The recent release of Final Cut Pro X was a big disappointment to a lot of long time users because Apple removed a lot of popular features and completely changed the workflow in other areas. Users were calling it iMovie Pro. I hope Apple doesn’t go along the same lines with Logic and releases Garageband Pro. There’s also rumors that some of the features that come standard with Logic now will be changed to pay for add-ons like Main Stage and Soundtrack Pro.

Really what I’m hoping for is they make Logic more streamlined and less cumbersome (more Live-like?). Just one example I can think of is to feed a MIDI track to an audio track you have to feed the MIDI track to a bus track and then from the bus track to an audio track. Stupid middle man shit like that needs to go.

Discuss.

What will it be first, Live or Logic ? Ableton must have a pretty tight group of devs and beta testers.. No solid rumors of Live 9 yet from what I have read or seen anywhere
jROB

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: Logic Pro X

Post by beats me » Thu Sep 08, 2011 7:46 pm

jrob6716 wrote:What will it be first, Live or Logic ? Ableton must have a pretty tight group of devs and beta testers.. No solid rumors of Live 9 yet from what I have read or seen anywhere

I think it will be Logic first. Apple could release it at any time without notice. It's not their main product by any means. I think Ableton will be a little more strategic with some solid buzz build ahead of time.

oxygen23
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:18 pm

Re: Logic Pro X

Post by oxygen23 » Thu Sep 08, 2011 8:04 pm

Tarekith wrote:I'm with you on the routing issue, at least it's doable in Logic now though, for a long time it wasn't. I ALWAYS record softsynths right to audio tracks as I play them, so this is crucial for me (and one reason I don't use StudioOne, which is think is awesome otherwise).
hehe..it's exactly what Jonathan announced today for Studio One v2 (better routing and direct recording), and he also said v2 it's "coming soon" :wink:

oh..and sorry for OT, guys :oops: ..It just looks like we will have a wave of new upcoming versions of our favorite daws, soon :D

Cheers!

Tarekith
Posts: 17255
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro X

Post by Tarekith » Thu Sep 08, 2011 9:06 pm

Got a link for the announcement about Studio 1 v2? I'd love to see them implement that, as it's a fantastic app otherwise.

As for why I record to audio right away, it's so I can get what I heard while playin the part captured and just move on. It's faster for me to just try again if I make any mistakes while playing, versus getting stuck in that trap of just fixing one note.

No CPU issues, no automation, no temptation to try and fix things, it just gets recorded and that's that. Besides, with something like Live, it's almost as easy to tweak audio as it is MIDI if it comes to that.

Post Reply