Never Enough RAM

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
ramissues
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 2:21 am

Never Enough RAM

Post by ramissues » Mon Mar 19, 2012 2:27 am

Hey, so I've been having memory issues with my production in Live, recently.
I previously found that with 4GB of memory, I was using around 150% of my memory whenever I tried to listen to my track with all channels playing.
Yesterday I added an additional 4GB of RAM to my computer, totalling 8GB. While all of my PC games undertook drastic frame rate improvements, Live was
left completely unaffected by this upgrade.

Does anyone know why this might be? I know that there was no error with the installation, it's a problem within Live itself.
Thanks in advance.

antarktika
Posts: 1006
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:54 am

Re: Never Enough RAM

Post by antarktika » Mon Mar 19, 2012 6:18 am

The problem is with Live, as it is a 32 bit application, thus cannot access more than 4 gigs of ram. Live 9 will hopefully be 64 bit, though nobody knows when that will happen.

cotdagoo
Posts: 1031
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: canuhduh

Re: Never Enough RAM

Post by cotdagoo » Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:52 am

150% of your memory? That wouldn't be live's CPU meter you're reading that number from is it?

Locked