Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
hmj
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 10:00 pm

Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by hmj » Tue Apr 17, 2012 5:30 pm

"Detected Host: Live

Spectral Repair is not supported in this host.

Please not that Spectral Repair is very different from most other audio plug-ins. It first needs to Capture audio from the host, then you can Repair the audio, and finally you must Commit your edits back to the host.

Unfortunately you are using Spectral Repair in a host which doesn't support offline plug-ins at all, or it doesn't support them with the sample-accuracy required by Spectral Repair.

We recommend that you use Spectral Repair in the iZotope RX application which was installed when you installed the RX plug-ins."

This is just another reason it's not used by the people who actually make BIG money in post. Ableton needs to step it up.

simmerdown
Posts: 3761
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:36 pm
Location: Northwest Nowhere

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by simmerdown » Tue Apr 17, 2012 5:43 pm

if that's critical for you , then...yeh

but for most that would be like throwing the baby out with the bathwater...

Live's workflow is the critical factor (for me)

Tone Deft
Posts: 24154
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by Tone Deft » Tue Apr 17, 2012 5:49 pm

anyone making the bucks wouldn't be stopped by this. :roll:

edit the audio externally, import it back in.
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

hmj
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 10:00 pm

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by hmj » Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:07 pm

Tone Deft wrote:anyone making the bucks wouldn't be stopped by this. :roll:

edit the audio externally, import it back in.
Agreed, there is no excuse to be stopped and always a workaround for anything but let's not sit here and make excuses for Ableton. We support the crap out of this company and features like Sample Accuracy are not something you can easily work around.

Tone Deft
Posts: 24154
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by Tone Deft » Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:12 pm

give 'em hell, it makes my copy of Live even better. ;)

while Ableton are waiting for BitWig to drop their load maybe they have time to code up the "nice to haves" now that the "must haves" are in place.
/unfounded speculation.
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

H20nly
Posts: 15850
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by H20nly » Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:27 pm

because all PROs use plugins and all plugins must work all the time. :roll:

take that you guitar/bass/strings/piano/drums/horn/vocalist motherfuckers! you don't make PRO music! this thread makes it official! EDM and every plugin on the market is the only thing that will make you PRO. ever.

agent314
Posts: 1450
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:07 am

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by agent314 » Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:33 pm

"Detected Host: Live

Spectral Repair is not supported in this host.

Please not that Spectral Repair is very different from most other audio plug-ins. It first needs to Capture audio from the host, then you can Repair the audio, and finally you must Commit your edits back to the host.

Unfortunately you are using Spectral Repair in a host which doesn't support offline plug-ins at all, or it doesn't support them with the sample-accuracy required by Spectral Repair.

We recommend that you use Spectral Repair in the iZotope RX application which was installed when you installed the RX plug-ins."

This is just another reason it's not used by the people who actually make BIG money in post. Ableton needs to step it up.
Solution? Set RX to be your default audio editor.

Select clip, click "Edit", perform your spectral repair tasks, click save, close file.

philipc
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 1:29 pm
Location: Bristol, UK.
Contact:

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by philipc » Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:36 pm

agent314 wrote:
"Detected Host: Live

Spectral Repair is not supported in this host.

Please not that Spectral Repair is very different from most other audio plug-ins. It first needs to Capture audio from the host, then you can Repair the audio, and finally you must Commit your edits back to the host.

Unfortunately you are using Spectral Repair in a host which doesn't support offline plug-ins at all, or it doesn't support them with the sample-accuracy required by Spectral Repair.

We recommend that you use Spectral Repair in the iZotope RX application which was installed when you installed the RX plug-ins."

This is just another reason it's not used by the people who actually make BIG money in post. Ableton needs to step it up.
Solution? Set RX to be your default audio editor.

Select clip, click "Edit", perform your spectral repair tasks, click save, close file.
Simple, obvious workarounds spoil the fun of being an indignant troll.

shuutobi
Posts: 889
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 3:23 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by shuutobi » Wed Apr 18, 2012 4:24 am

Isn't this the plugins issue? It's not a real-time plugin, just like Sony Noise Reduction.

mholloway
Posts: 1577
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:24 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by mholloway » Wed Apr 18, 2012 4:41 am

OH NO!!!
my industrial music made with Ableton Live (as DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER): https://deadwhenifoundher.bandcamp.com/
my dark jazz / noir music made with Ableton Live: https://michaelarthurholloway.bandcamp. ... guilt-noir

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by 3dot... » Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:30 am

hmj wrote:features like Sample Accuracy are not something you can easily work around.
what do you mean ? who said anything about that ?
are you suggesting that Live skips samples ?
Image

hacktheplanet
Posts: 2846
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 6:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by hacktheplanet » Wed Apr 18, 2012 5:46 pm

THIS IS AN OUTRAGE I AM SWITCHING BACK TO AUDACITY
Image

Rationalizer
Posts: 1307
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 3:14 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by Rationalizer » Wed Apr 18, 2012 5:54 pm

You need to upgrade to Live 9 Pro. Works fine for me.
WIN8.1 x64 | Suite 9.5 x64 | RME FF400 | UAD-2 | Maschine 2 | SparkLE | Mopho | Blodeld | Komplete 9 | Ebony A2 | Adam A7 | Launchpad | Waves Diamond V9 | Many VSTs

Facebook | Youtube | Soundcloud | Beatport

massenmedium
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 6:25 pm

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by massenmedium » Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:40 pm

So Spectral Repair is OFFLINE ONLY, and Live is, well I think there just might be a clue in the name.

Yeah it would perhaps be better than not to have support for such a plugin but you can see why a real-time oriented audio engine would not have much use for something that only works in offline mode.

stringtapper
Posts: 6285
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by stringtapper » Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:16 pm

I don't want it to be a "real DAW". I want it to be the best damn host for sequencing audio and video for LIVE performance!

:x
Unsound Designer

Post Reply