Freeze Groups

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
betaSCL
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 9:37 am

Freeze Groups

Post by betaSCL » Thu Feb 28, 2013 9:34 pm

Dear Ableton Team,

please implement the possiblity to freeze Groups, so that two tracks can be merged together fast and comfortable.

Would be awesome for creating submixes and saving CPU load.

SensualPanda
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 2:02 am

Re: Freeze Groups

Post by SensualPanda » Fri Mar 01, 2013 2:52 am

I second this feature request. It would prove extremely useful for mixing.

cybervertigo
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:07 am

Re: Freeze Groups

Post by cybervertigo » Tue Mar 05, 2013 5:28 am

+1


Lumix
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 4:17 pm

Re: Freeze Groups

Post by Lumix » Mon Mar 11, 2013 1:48 pm

+3
The Davile Insaide Teh Mashihne.

su
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 6:09 am

Re: Freeze Groups

Post by su » Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:58 pm

+4

JBlongz
Posts: 505
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: Freeze Groups

Post by JBlongz » Mon Mar 18, 2013 1:33 pm

In short, that would be a problem for multichannel instruments that rely on the first track in the group which holds a plugin. Aside from that, is it not enough to select all the tracks in the group to freeze at once? This way you can still add plugins to the group track itself.
rMBP Quad 2.8GHz, 16GB, 1TB SSD | UAD Apollo 8
JBlongz YouTube

TYLRbass
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:51 pm

Re: Freeze Groups

Post by TYLRbass » Mon Mar 18, 2013 2:11 pm

Right now the best solution is to Export like you would when you render an entire track, or just resample? yikes.. but a simple freeze of a group down to one audio channel would be AWESOME!

+1
Image

randycolby
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 10:59 pm

Re: Freeze Groups

Post by randycolby » Tue Mar 19, 2013 12:06 am

+6

makro74
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:55 pm

Re: Freeze Groups

Post by makro74 » Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:56 pm

This is a really, really useful feature.
Please integrate it!

mickmon1
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 12:07 pm

Re: Freeze Groups

Post by mickmon1 » Tue Mar 26, 2013 10:22 pm

+7

m.nash
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:40 pm

Re: Freeze Groups

Post by m.nash » Fri Jan 17, 2014 2:35 am

Just discovered this limitation. Freeze/Bounce In Place features really need to be beefed up.

liamshy
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 12:38 am

Re: Freeze Groups

Post by liamshy » Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:09 pm

YES!!!! This would be incredibly useful & awesome!!!

S-N-S
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 9:22 am
Location: denmark
Contact:

Re: Freeze Groups

Post by S-N-S » Sat Feb 08, 2014 11:23 pm

would indeed rock

Launch3r
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 6:08 am

Re: Freeze Groups

Post by Launch3r » Sat Dec 20, 2014 6:14 am

Yep. I find myself having to deselect all the groups after Shift-selecting them all, then freeze them afterwards. Also, the same thing goes for resizing rows in Arrangement View. You can select multiple tracks then resize them altogether like in Microsoft Excel. However, we could not do that with group tracks. They seem to have a local scope of focus or something

Post Reply