All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: FIX REWIRE PLEASE!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 6:32 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:05 pm
Posts: 16
Come on Ableton! You have known that Rewire is broken in 9 since all the Beta testers told you prior to its release.

You released it knowing it was broken and the statement in your advertising :

"Here are the features common to all editions of Live 9: ... Rewire" is false.

You have released 3 beta updates and still no working Rewire. This is a major flaw and needs to be fixed.

Please "+1" and bump this if you agree...

_________________
Moog IIP, Dot.Com 66, Cubase 7, Ableton 9, W7Pro/64, i7920/9Gigs, 2xMR816, Motu 128, SL61MKII, HR824, NS10M, Komplet7, Omnisphere, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta, Axon AX50, Variax700, Alembic Rogue 5, LP Giovannis... Hi, I'm Al... and I'm a gear addict...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FIX REWIRE PLEASE!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:49 pm 

Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 1:41 pm
Posts: 1391
Location: Berkshire, UK
Yes, they have admitted it's broken and they have it recorded as a bug/issue, but they haven't given an ETA for a fix.

Either they're not bothered (they've already been dropping features because they decide no one wants them) or they're finding it tough to rectify.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FIX REWIRE PLEASE!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 11:44 pm 

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:05 am
Posts: 257
Location: Seattle
Another reason not to upgrade to Live 9.

_________________
http://www.KevWestBeats.com
http://www.YouTube.com/DjKevWest
http://www.Facebook.com/KevWestbeats
http://www.Twitter.com/KevWestBeats

Live 9, Komplete 9, Maschine MK2, IK Total Studio, XLN Audio Addictive Keys and Addictive Drums, All of FXpansion's fx.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FIX REWIRE PLEASE!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 11:42 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 3:12 am
Posts: 912
I find rewire more or less useless in live, because all plugins and max is disabled.
But yeah, your absolute right, +1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FIX REWIRE PLEASE!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 12:00 pm 

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm
Posts: 9959
mr.ergonomics wrote:
I find rewire more or less useless in live, because all plugins and max is disabled.
But yeah, your absolute right, +1.

Live can be rewire 'master'.. in which case nothing is disabled..

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FIX REWIRE PLEASE!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 5:03 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 3:12 am
Posts: 912
Yes, but that is only one use case.

When you're interested to use a more mature linear sequencer (that is my use case) you have to use it as a slave...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FIX REWIRE PLEASE!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 10:54 pm 

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:07 am
Posts: 19
Maybe in Ableton 10 they'll fix it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FIX REWIRE PLEASE!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2013 12:41 pm 

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:47 pm
Posts: 867
kryptonitejesus wrote:
Maybe in Ableton 10 they'll fix it.

Isn't that what we say pretty much every time something that seems to be essential for us is buggy or lacking? "Maybe in Live 8/9/10"...

I would really suggest to have a user poll on features/bugfixes as in many other products/projects. While Live 9 really brought some of the top 10 wishes of the community, others seem to be "forgotten" or considered unimportant.

Give the community some power...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FIX REWIRE PLEASE!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2013 1:24 pm 

Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Posts: 3461
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands
IMO this is a pretty big issue indeed. Especially if you consider the fact that it "breaks" other DAW's and not so much Live itself (you'll only notice oddities when $other_daw gets started and presents you with an error message).

And as to the long or non-existent ETA.. I've stated it many times but to me Live 9 feels somewhat unfinished on many points. That's not saying I don't like it, I actually quite enjoy it so far (including the browser), but it doesn't change the fact that there are issues.

I'm beginning to suspect (though its only a theory) that the release date for Live 9 got rescheduled and was put one or two months before the initial scheduled date. This isn't about Ableton alone anymore (IMO); there are more parties to content with.

I for one don't believe it was coincidence that only 1 week after Live 9's release the Propellerheads suddenly announced Reason 7. Or what to think about Komplete 9 (even though this isn't a direct 'competitor' so to speak).

And there's also Cycling 74; even though Max for Live is now "part" of Suite 9 its basically still a totally separate product. Surely they need to keep some developments in sync between those products?

So I get the impression that they're very busy trying to keep up, perhaps releasing new features in future updates which were planned but didn't make it into Live 9.

Either that or there are even more issues with Live 9 than we're aware of.

_________________
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the Big Trio: Live 9 Suite, Max (for Live) and Reason 6.5.
Blog: SynthFan.info.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FIX REWIRE PLEASE!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2013 2:10 pm 

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:37 am
Posts: 1076
Keep in mind that running a full-fledged DAW as rewire slave is technically problematic due to latency issues, ie. the master needs to include the current slave latency into its own latency compensation. Note that 3rd party plugins and m4l devices introduce substantial latency in Live.

I'm not sure if the rewire protocol provides latency report from the slave, but there must be a reason why some major DAWs like Cubase and Logic don't support rewire slave mode.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FIX REWIRE PLEASE!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:00 pm 

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 3:29 am
Posts: 1492
Location: Fremont, CA
broc wrote:
Keep in mind that running a full-fledged DAW as rewire slave is technically problematic due to latency issues, ie. the master needs to include the current slave latency into its own latency compensation. Note that 3rd party plugins and m4l devices introduce substantial latency in Live.

I'm not sure if the rewire protocol provides latency report from the slave, but there must be a reason why some major DAWs like Cubase and Logic don't support rewire slave mode.



Can't you save your session and flatten tracks then automate in rewire host?

_________________
Emulator x3 /Ableton PUSH /Akai S1000HD /Arturia Spark Creative Drum Machine/ Arturia V Collection 3/ EPS classic / MPC 60 II / MPC 2000XL/ Xstation 25/ Xboard 49/ Live 9/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FIX REWIRE PLEASE!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2013 9:06 pm 

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:37 am
Posts: 1076
v00d00ppl wrote:
broc wrote:
Keep in mind that running a full-fledged DAW as rewire slave is technically problematic due to latency issues, ie. the master needs to include the current slave latency into its own latency compensation. Note that 3rd party plugins and m4l devices introduce substantial latency in Live.

I'm not sure if the rewire protocol provides latency report from the slave, but there must be a reason why some major DAWs like Cubase and Logic don't support rewire slave mode.


Can't you save your session and flatten tracks then automate in rewire host?


It would eliminate the latency problem, but most users probably wouldn't like the workflow.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FIX REWIRE PLEASE!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2013 9:14 pm 

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:24 pm
Posts: 1305
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
You can still Rewire Reason into Live, at least.

Which is all I use Rewire for, so I didn't even know it was broken..

_________________
Image
/ dead when i found her online: http://dwifh.com
/ industrial music by dead when i found her at: http://www.soundcloud.com/deadwhenifoundher


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FIX REWIRE PLEASE!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:18 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:05 pm
Posts: 16
Bump... New beta, but still no rewire fix... :evil:

_________________
Moog IIP, Dot.Com 66, Cubase 7, Ableton 9, W7Pro/64, i7920/9Gigs, 2xMR816, Motu 128, SL61MKII, HR824, NS10M, Komplet7, Omnisphere, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta, Axon AX50, Variax700, Alembic Rogue 5, LP Giovannis... Hi, I'm Al... and I'm a gear addict...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FIX REWIRE PLEASE!!!!!!!!
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 6:12 am 

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:04 am
Posts: 87
Hi!
Try to download the latest rewire drivers from propellerheads page.
it works for me and i rewire ableton in to logic.

All the best,,

Jp


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group