All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Help With Drum Rack in Ableton Live
PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:33 am 

Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:26 am
Posts: 6
Hey guys, I got my Ableton Launchpad pretty recently, and I love it, but I have one problem. I want to set up drums on my launch pad trhough drum rack, just like all the tutorials say. I go to the plugins tab, I click on the instruments folder, and I see the Simpler and Impulse plugin, and the instrument rack and the drum rack folder. When I click on either of those there is nothing but a folder that says "current project." As if the plug in isn't there. I really hope I can get some help on this. Thank you for your time. -Isaac


T.L.D.R. Drum rack and instrument plug in is missing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help With Drum Rack in Ableton Live
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2013 1:46 pm 

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 10:21 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: Massachusetts, USA
First off, what version of Live are you running (32 bit/64 bit)? What OS are you running on? If Live 9, did you download your packs from Your Software from your account at ableton.com? You need to give us more information in order to try and assist you. Also look at the help area of ableton.com as it may answer some of your questions.

Mike

_________________
http://www.darkenedsoul.net - main website
http://www.artistserver.com/miredintwilight - martial/dark ambient project
Ableton Live 8.3/8.4/9.0.5 : NI Komplete 8 : Home built E6850 4GB 1x2TB, 2x1TB 7200 RPM SATA II drives.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help With Drum Rack in Ableton Live
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 10:11 pm 

Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:26 am
Posts: 6
I have Live 8 Launchpad Edition (8.2.1). I got a Mac Book Pro Snow Lepord 64 Bit. Please Help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help With Drum Rack in Ableton Live
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:14 am 

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 10:21 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Well I can't be of much help due to a) do not have a launchpad and b) not on Mac computer. But, did you load all the packs in that came with the launchpad edition disc(s)? I can't help you beyond that. Check the main ableton site under Help as well.

Sorry I can't be of much assistance.

Mike

_________________
http://www.darkenedsoul.net - main website
http://www.artistserver.com/miredintwilight - martial/dark ambient project
Ableton Live 8.3/8.4/9.0.5 : NI Komplete 8 : Home built E6850 4GB 1x2TB, 2x1TB 7200 RPM SATA II drives.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help With Drum Rack in Ableton Live
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 1:40 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 7:43 pm
Posts: 57
Location: Baltimore
Can you even use drum racks with the launchpad edition? I thought you had to have full or suite to use drum racks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help With Drum Rack in Ableton Live
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:09 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:55 pm
Posts: 575
I believe you cannot create new drum racks, but you can load existing ones. This is why the drum rack "device" is missing from the menu.

You'll need to find existing presets. -- I think you can download some Live Packs from the site for free --- Like the Drum Machines pack -- I think that one is free? Good luck!

_________________
Tim Tilberg - Duluth, MN | SoundCloud - Arsenal
2011 13" MBP w/8GB ram | Live 9 Suite, Reason 6.5, FXPansion DCAM/Etch/Maul, Izotope Ozone 5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help With Drum Rack in Ableton Live
PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 5:16 am 

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 9:58 pm
Posts: 99
Location: Colorado
yes the Drum Machine racks are free and great.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help With Drum Rack in Ableton Live
PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 3:07 pm 

Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:26 am
Posts: 6
Great thanks so much guys! This is what I found http://blog.braindub.com/brazzarack/

Is this what you were talking about?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help With Drum Rack in Ableton Live
PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 5:50 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 9:58 pm
Posts: 99
Location: Colorado
no. the drum machine kits we are talking about are available from ableton's website. essentially they are drum racks created from classic drum machine samples. and it's free (I'm pretty sure).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help With Drum Rack in Ableton Live
PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 6:48 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:55 pm
Posts: 575
https://www.ableton.com/en/packs/drum-machines/

Cheers

_________________
Tim Tilberg - Duluth, MN | SoundCloud - Arsenal
2011 13" MBP w/8GB ram | Live 9 Suite, Reason 6.5, FXPansion DCAM/Etch/Maul, Izotope Ozone 5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help With Drum Rack in Ableton Live
PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 7:59 pm 

Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:26 am
Posts: 6
ttilberg wrote:
https://www.ableton.com/en/packs/drum-machines/

Cheers



That looks like what I could be looking for but it says Page was not found. And I am pretty sure the drum rack should have came with abelton live launchpad edition because this guy http://www.wimp.com/launchpadmashup/ made his stuff in user 1 mode and dragged his sounds into the drum rack.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help With Drum Rack in Ableton Live
PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:36 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:55 pm
Posts: 575
Nah, it's well documented that Launchpad edition cannot modify drum racks. I feel like I remember a statement going out a while ago that says that the launchpad edition won't exist any longer, and that it just operates as an Intro license... Or maybe it was the other way around. Either way, you should contact Ableton support for a feature comparison, because I can no longer find it on their website. Maybe if you're lucky, and it is the case that Launchpad editions are now treated as "intro" (which include drum racks) you might be able to get an intro license -- who knows.


It looks like Drum Machines live pack is only at standard level and higher, so that's probably why it isn't available to you.

You have to realize that the version of Live you are playing with is basically just a limited demo version so that there is at least SOME software to hook up when you buy the hardware.

I highly recommend downloading a proper Live Trial and playing with that a bit. For 30 days you can use the trial to full extent, saving and everything -- afterwards the only limitation is that saving is disabled (I believe?)

_________________
Tim Tilberg - Duluth, MN | SoundCloud - Arsenal
2011 13" MBP w/8GB ram | Live 9 Suite, Reason 6.5, FXPansion DCAM/Etch/Maul, Izotope Ozone 5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help With Drum Rack in Ableton Live
PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:54 pm 

Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:26 am
Posts: 6
Are you sure the LaunchPad edition doesn't have drum rack capabilities? Check out this screenshot. http://imgur.com/0EHZJU6,qlPRt5R


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help With Drum Rack in Ableton Live
PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 2:39 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:55 pm
Posts: 575
Yes, you can only load preset drumracks, not edit existing ones (meaning you cannot create a new one either). That's why we were suggesting using a live pack that has drum racks.

The disk your Launchpad came with should have some presets to install though as well, so you at least have something to play with. And there should be (used to be????) free packs on Ableton's site. But now that everything you see is tied to your account, it's hard for me to help you, as I see everything available.

You should consider contacting Ableton support directly for this issue, they can give you the official words, and maybe help point you in the right direction.

_________________
Tim Tilberg - Duluth, MN | SoundCloud - Arsenal
2011 13" MBP w/8GB ram | Live 9 Suite, Reason 6.5, FXPansion DCAM/Etch/Maul, Izotope Ozone 5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help With Drum Rack in Ableton Live
PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 5:28 pm 

Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:26 am
Posts: 6
ttilberg wrote:
Yes, you can only load preset drumracks, not edit existing ones (meaning you cannot create a new one either). That's why we were suggesting using a live pack that has drum racks.

The disk your Launchpad came with should have some presets to install though as well, so you at least have something to play with. And there should be (used to be????) free packs on Ableton's site. But now that everything you see is tied to your account, it's hard for me to help you, as I see everything available.

You should consider contacting Ableton support directly for this issue, they can give you the official words, and maybe help point you in the right direction.

Okay when I get home in a week Il check the disc and hopefully I will find something. Thank You.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group