Selecting + moving several pads in drum rack

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
Fanu
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 7:50 pm
Location: Helsinki

Selecting + moving several pads in drum rack

Post by Fanu » Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:01 am

Currently, you can't select and move a group of pads in drum rack: you can only select and move one pad at a time.
Could you please add a feature that allows the user to select and move several pads at a time.
I often need this when I chop up a loooong breakbeat, resulting in so many samples it results in many 16 pad layouts; then i end up deleting a lot of chops i wont need and want to have the most useful ones in one 16 pad area.
I often face the need to select and move several pads while arranging so I'd really need this.
Image
Mastering & mixing by Fanu | Ableton Live Basics tutorial video
Mixing and mastering engineer | Ableton Certified Trainer

wascal
Posts: 261
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 3:14 am
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Selecting + moving several pads in drum rack

Post by wascal » Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:42 pm

+1
TTKK / NOODLES / iANDALE! / TIGERBEAT6 / HOT & HEAVY etc
http://www.soundcloud.com/wascal

Because789
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:26 pm

Re: Selecting + moving several pads in drum rack

Post by Because789 » Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:05 am

+1
Live 9.5 (64bit), Max 7.0.6, Windows 10, Push 2, Korg electribe2, Bass Station II, Launch Control XL, Faderfox DJ3

M4L

10110101
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 5:43 am

Re: Selecting + moving several pads in drum rack

Post by 10110101 » Tue Oct 01, 2013 6:45 pm

+1

nxixcxk
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 11:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting + moving several pads in drum rack

Post by nxixcxk » Fri Oct 18, 2013 1:28 am

+5. this is a surprisingly absent feature. How on EARTH do you move the pads around? Should be able to change default pad settings from c1 to c5 etc.

ReverendEntity
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 8:16 pm

Re: Selecting + moving several pads in drum rack

Post by ReverendEntity » Thu May 29, 2014 8:17 pm

+1. I would also like to be able to select multiple pads and adjust a common setting for each one in Simpler (for instance, setting HP filters for all your hihats to the same cutoff).

connorshafran
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:53 pm

Re: Selecting + moving several pads in drum rack

Post by connorshafran » Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:54 pm

+1! Please add this feature!

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2276
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Selecting + moving several pads in drum rack

Post by [jur] » Fri Jan 08, 2016 1:40 am

No need to add as it's already there (maybe not that straightforward though).
You need to open the drum rack's chains view (or whatever it is called). I'm talking about the drum rack's "mixer" where you can see all your drums and set there note, routing and so on...
Here you can select multiple drums ans move them.
BUT WAIT
I've just tried with the latest beta and it doesn't work. I'm pretty sure it used to work. I'll investigate and let you know.
Ableton Forum Moderator

garyboozy
Posts: 2629
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Selecting + moving several pads in drum rack

Post by garyboozy » Fri Jan 08, 2016 12:45 pm

it's never worked, unfortunately - moving the expanded drum chain order has never altered the pad order.
i was surprised this feature wasn't added when Live got 64-pad drum kits in Push – creating 64-pad kits from 4 x 16-pad kits via copy-paste would make things so much easier.

+1

Colbs
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 7:14 pm

Re: Selecting + moving several pads in drum rack

Post by Colbs » Wed Feb 10, 2016 12:53 am

This feature would be great. Also, being able to change groups of pads between gate and trigger, etc...

SLEEPER
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:58 am
Location: Venice, CA
Contact:

Re: Selecting + moving several pads in drum rack

Post by SLEEPER » Tue Sep 13, 2016 12:50 am

so needed pretty please

Francis_Knight
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2020 8:31 am

Re: Selecting + moving several pads in drum rack

Post by Francis_Knight » Mon Oct 12, 2020 8:32 am

I want this feature too! :)

jonljacobi
Posts: 550
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Selecting + moving several pads in drum rack

Post by jonljacobi » Fri Oct 16, 2020 8:04 pm

It would be nice if Ableton got out the fine tooth comb and added this type of functionality throughout. And made actions consistent across the entire interface.

Post Reply