Offbeat 1/4 note Repeat ?

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
ansolas
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:01 pm
Location: Earth ~ Europe ~ Germany ~ Cuxheaven

Offbeat 1/4 note Repeat ?

Post by ansolas » Mon Nov 04, 2013 6:11 pm

Hello,
is it possible to somehow use the 1/4 noterepeat to start on 'offeat' rather than onbeat?

If you enable the 1/4 noterepeat it is easy to record a simple 4/4 Kick pattern,
but it is impossible to record an offbeat hihat

:?:

yur2die4
Posts: 6531
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Offbeat 1/4 note Repeat ?

Post by yur2die4 » Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:15 pm

Probably not without adding Simple Delay.

ansolas
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:01 pm
Location: Earth ~ Europe ~ Germany ~ Cuxheaven

Re: Offbeat 1/4 note Repeat ?

Post by ansolas » Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:21 pm

yur2die4 wrote:Probably not without adding Simple Delay.
midi delay ?

Airyck
Posts: 726
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:54 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Offbeat 1/4 note Repeat ?

Post by Airyck » Tue Nov 12, 2013 3:48 pm

Just put it on 1/8th note repeat and lift your finger(s) on the downbeat. It will act more like a real time quantize but should do the trick. Plus you'll get better at playing rhythms 8)

Also if you make a mute group some how with an empty pad, you can write in 1/4 notes on one and use 1/8th note repeat on the other. So then the 1/8th note one gets muted on the downbeat making it an off beat 1/4 note repeat... just a thought if you can work out the logistics.
Last edited by Airyck on Tue Nov 12, 2013 3:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.soundcloud.com/airyck-sterrett
Ableton Live 10 Suite / Push 2 / Max 7 & 8 /
2016 Macbook Pro 15"
Too much hardware to list

ansolas
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:01 pm
Location: Earth ~ Europe ~ Germany ~ Cuxheaven

Re: Offbeat 1/4 note Repeat ?

Post by ansolas » Tue Nov 12, 2013 3:51 pm

Airyck wrote:...should do the trick. Plus you'll get better at playing rhythms 8)
yeh should, but it don't :) Thats was my first approach and thats why I am asking here.
Try it yourself ! :P

Airyck
Posts: 726
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:54 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Offbeat 1/4 note Repeat ?

Post by Airyck » Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:50 pm

ansolas wrote:
Airyck wrote:...should do the trick. Plus you'll get better at playing rhythms 8)
yeh should, but it don't :) Thats was my first approach and thats why I am asking here.
Try it yourself ! :P
I can do it, but not for a long time. I start to mess up after a while :lol:
It helps if you tap your other hand on the desk for the down beats
http://www.soundcloud.com/airyck-sterrett
Ableton Live 10 Suite / Push 2 / Max 7 & 8 /
2016 Macbook Pro 15"
Too much hardware to list

ansolas
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:01 pm
Location: Earth ~ Europe ~ Germany ~ Cuxheaven

Re: Offbeat 1/4 note Repeat ?

Post by ansolas » Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:55 pm

Airyck wrote:
ansolas wrote:
Airyck wrote:...should do the trick. Plus you'll get better at playing rhythms 8)
yeh should, but it don't :) Thats was my first approach and thats why I am asking here.
Try it yourself ! :P
I can do it, but not for a long time. I start to mess up after a while :lol:
It helps if you tap your other hand on the desk for the down beats
not working here.

Its not a matter of my playing skills, its just starts everytime one the ONE.

Is it maybe a quantize setting ?

Airyck
Posts: 726
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:54 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Offbeat 1/4 note Repeat ?

Post by Airyck » Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:59 pm

ansolas wrote:
not working here.

Its not a matter of my playing skills, its just starts everytime one the ONE.

Is it maybe a quantize setting ?

Yeah you have to make sure to set the quantize to 1/8th note. If you skip the downbeat when the quantize is set to 1/8th note you'll have an offset 1/4 note quantize like you're looking for.

So on the first beat, tap the desk with your left hand, then on the off beat hit the pad, then the very next beat tap the desk with your left hand and the off beat hit the pad etc... The note repeat will act like an input quantize making it so you hit the offbeat perfectly every time.
Last edited by Airyck on Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.soundcloud.com/airyck-sterrett
Ableton Live 10 Suite / Push 2 / Max 7 & 8 /
2016 Macbook Pro 15"
Too much hardware to list

ansolas
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:01 pm
Location: Earth ~ Europe ~ Germany ~ Cuxheaven

Re: Offbeat 1/4 note Repeat ?

Post by ansolas » Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:04 pm

Ok i tried that, strange , it is anytime starting at the one here, It simple wont start at the offbeat.

So you mean the following settings work for you :

Step Sequencer Resolution set to: 1/8 (green)

and Note repeat set to: 1/4 (red)

?
Last edited by ansolas on Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Airyck
Posts: 726
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:54 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Offbeat 1/4 note Repeat ?

Post by Airyck » Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:08 pm

ansolas wrote:
Airyck wrote:
ansolas wrote:
not working here.

Its not a matter of my playing skills, its just starts everytime one the ONE.

Is it maybe a quantize setting ?

Yeah you have to make sure to set the quantize to 1/8th note. If you skip the downbeat when the quantize is set to 1/8th note you'll have an offset 1/4 note quantize like you're looking for.
Ok i tried that, strange , it is anytime starting at the one here, It simple wont start at the offbeat.
That is very strange; you may be hitting the pad too late which would pull the quantize to the next down beat. Try purposely hitting it early and see if that allows you to make it sound on the off beat. 1/8th note quantize should play on the downbeat, the off beat, the downbeat, the off beat, etc... So if you skip the downbeat it should play only the off beat. If 1/8th note is to coarse try doing it with a 1/16th note repeat. It will require you to be a bit more precise but you will have a better chance of it sounding.

Also, if your latency is too high you may be missing it all together.
http://www.soundcloud.com/airyck-sterrett
Ableton Live 10 Suite / Push 2 / Max 7 & 8 /
2016 Macbook Pro 15"
Too much hardware to list

ansolas
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:01 pm
Location: Earth ~ Europe ~ Germany ~ Cuxheaven

Re: Offbeat 1/4 note Repeat ?

Post by ansolas » Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:16 pm

Image


not tight enough played ?

I keep trying

ansolas
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:01 pm
Location: Earth ~ Europe ~ Germany ~ Cuxheaven

Re: Offbeat 1/4 note Repeat ?

Post by ansolas » Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:22 pm

I apologize that i have read your initially post to fast.... you are 100% correct, I assumed to much and read to less.

Using 1/8 and lifting on downbeat does the trick...

but where is the advantage of just playing the offbeat live without any repeat at all ?!

Airyck
Posts: 726
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:54 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Offbeat 1/4 note Repeat ?

Post by Airyck » Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:29 pm

ansolas wrote:I apologize that i have read you initially post to fast. you are 100% correct, I assumed to much and read to less.

using 1/8 and lifting on downbeat does the trick, but where is the advantage of just playing live without any repeat at all ?!
I guess we were talking about different quantize settings, set your note repeat to 1/8th quantize on the Push then play like we've been discussing. If you have the noterepeat set to 1/4th it will only play on the downbeats regardless of your Ableton quantize settings.

So note repeat has to be on 1/8th, then the advantage is that even though you have to play it, your off beat hits will be exactly "off beat"
http://www.soundcloud.com/airyck-sterrett
Ableton Live 10 Suite / Push 2 / Max 7 & 8 /
2016 Macbook Pro 15"
Too much hardware to list

ansolas
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:01 pm
Location: Earth ~ Europe ~ Germany ~ Cuxheaven

Re: Offbeat 1/4 note Repeat ?

Post by ansolas » Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:37 pm

Airyck wrote:
ansolas wrote:your off beat hits will be exactly "off beat"
ok I see, but It would be great if it would repeat automatically without lifting and manually striking again.

It would be even helpfull it wouldnt quantize at all and just repeat at a certain intervall.

Airyck
Posts: 726
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:54 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Offbeat 1/4 note Repeat ?

Post by Airyck » Tue Nov 12, 2013 6:14 pm

ansolas wrote:
Airyck wrote:
ansolas wrote:your off beat hits will be exactly "off beat"
ok I see, but It would be great if it would repeat automatically without lifting and manually striking again.

It would be even helpfull it wouldnt quantize at all and just repeat at a certain intervall.
I don't know if it will work but maybe you could try deactivating Ableton's quantize settings all together and just have the note repeat on. Never tried it but it's worth a shot... I'm guessing the Push is always synced to the host though.
http://www.soundcloud.com/airyck-sterrett
Ableton Live 10 Suite / Push 2 / Max 7 & 8 /
2016 Macbook Pro 15"
Too much hardware to list

Post Reply