touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
scheffkoch
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by scheffkoch » Tue Apr 28, 2015 2:47 pm

...according to a facebook post it doesn't work with iconnect midi...but why should it?...it just works via wifi or via the simple usb cable...everything you do in live will be synced to touchable and you can then edit it in e.g. the step sequencer...
the templates that look like the "real" ableton plug ins are part of the add on...by default you can control the plugins via "normal" sliders, knobs or whatever but to get the "real" ableton look you have to buy the add on...

"but I'm pretty sure that it does not at its heart send/receive midi through the wired connection."
...it does...keep in mind: the touchable guys are also the programmers of midimux and audiomux...: http://midimux.com/
macbook pro late 2016, osx 10.13.6, rme multiface via sonnet thunderbolt expresscard adapter + thunderbolt to usb-c adapter, ableton live 10.0.1, push 2, komplete 9, maschine 2.7.6, touchable

yur2die4
Posts: 6400
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by yur2die4 » Tue Apr 28, 2015 3:03 pm

Okay, it 'might' send midi, my guess is that it sends a redefined kind of midi for their software to be packed and unpacked. Not the standard ios midi stream that iConnect or midi controllers would normally count on. This is only speculation though, as I don't know anything about this sort of stuff haha. I only know that some things are easier to tap into or out of than others. If it requires extra software from the developer on my computer, it is very specifically tailored for their apps. (Not that their apps don't receive or send midi from the apps themselves, just that between the wired connection, it is their specific guidelines and another adapter like iConnect would be unable to make sense of it as being 'ios midi')

Additionally, Push itself uses Python based stuff. Most of the actual functionality of Touchable probably isn't everyday run-of-the-mill midi stuff.

scheffkoch
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by scheffkoch » Tue Apr 28, 2015 3:40 pm

...i don't know and to be honest i don't care...all i can report is that it just works...stable and flawless...and i reckon more reliable and with lower latency than a wifi connection....now i hope they introduce oscmux soon so that i'm able to use my lemur reaktor templates via cable...
Last edited by scheffkoch on Tue Apr 28, 2015 3:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
macbook pro late 2016, osx 10.13.6, rme multiface via sonnet thunderbolt expresscard adapter + thunderbolt to usb-c adapter, ableton live 10.0.1, push 2, komplete 9, maschine 2.7.6, touchable

fuzzyhead
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 12:40 pm
Location: Froggystan

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by fuzzyhead » Tue Apr 28, 2015 3:40 pm

I asked the question about IconnectMidi in touch-able forum, here is the answer:
"Iconnectmidi or any other midi adapter/box will never be used to connect, touchAble connects using network , Midi and coreMIDI is too slow to handle the fast communication that touchAble needs, we have tested that many times it's not reliable. Try livecontrol 2 on lemur using iconnect and see how slow it is".
fishmonkey wrote:On another note: in the upcoming update for the app side, touchAble will start to run completely in the background, no more reconnect when you switch back and forth between touchAble and another app, or after waking the iPad from sleep. So as long as touchAble is running on the iPad, even in the background, it will stay connected without spitting out these messages.
scheffkoch wrote:...according to a facebook post it doesn't work with iconnect midi...but why should it?..
For this exact purpose, IconnectMidi allows you to use apps/synths/Fx etc.. directly in Live and control them via midi, the workaround is to have 2 Ipads, one for Touchable, another for the rest..
Take a few of those as well and enjoy'!

S4racen
Posts: 5170
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by S4racen » Tue Apr 28, 2015 3:45 pm

yur2die4 wrote:
Additionally, Push itself uses Python based stuff. Most of the actual functionality of Touchable probably isn't everyday run-of-the-mill midi stuff.
Your absolutely right, we worked with touchAble on the LaunchSync integration, it uses a MIDI server and a highly complex Python script...

Some of the elements have even been exposed to MaxforLive so that we can sync touchAble to the Push amongst others....

Cheers
D

scheffkoch
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by scheffkoch » Tue Apr 28, 2015 3:46 pm

"For this exact purpose, IconnectMidi allows you to use apps/synths/Fx etc.. directly in Live and control them via midi"

...you can also use midimux for that...midimux connects any ios app with any midi controller...also just with the standard ipad cable...no need for ios midi interfaces anymore...
macbook pro late 2016, osx 10.13.6, rme multiface via sonnet thunderbolt expresscard adapter + thunderbolt to usb-c adapter, ableton live 10.0.1, push 2, komplete 9, maschine 2.7.6, touchable

musikmachine
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 12:56 am

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by musikmachine » Tue Apr 28, 2015 4:08 pm

yur2die4 wrote:The midi thing is actually something I have not experimented much with. And it might be a frustrating ordeal in theory??

From what I gather, it uses a certain hack through iTunes in order to transmit and receive data with Live. This allows it to have the extra functionality but I'm pretty sure that it does not at its heart send/receive midi through the wired connection.

On the other hand, if you're at home, the wifi connection is quite good, just, if you planned to do a set outside of home, you'd want to really test out your setup under stress to see if it'll work out.

I think the midi into ipad option is mostly intended for when it is in wifi mode. I can't imagine how one would connect both the wired touchable connection AND a usb midi device. If there is a way to do that I'd love to hear it :D

Bluetooth midi is slowly picking up out there, but I still feel like it leaves a lot to be desired in how responsive and predictable it is.

As a side-warning: be careful if you get an iPad, it becomes addicting to get music apps! A lot of fun and inspiring tools out there. For times when you need a break from the studio (limitations and unique interfaces are very inspiring, so is having insanely powerful synthesizers haha). For the price of an iPad and a few apps, you have a multitude of full fledged, great sounding synths without requiring an outlet plugged into a wall.
That's why i'm asking, the icm2+ is patched in to my DAW and can keep the iPad charge and it works with Lemurs Live template so thought it would be possible. For some reason i couldn't set an ad hoc connection hence the icm2+ but now i can use a wired connection it's not so much an issue.

Too late, I'm fully issimilated. :wink: Yeah it's a great portable music device but i'm now interested in controllers again since apple added midi over usb.

musikmachine
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 12:56 am

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by musikmachine » Tue Apr 28, 2015 5:31 pm

scheffkoch wrote:...according to a facebook post it doesn't work with iconnect midi...but why should it?...it just works via wifi or via the simple usb cable...everything you do in live will be synced to touchable and you can then edit it in e.g. the step sequencer...
the templates that look like the "real" ableton plug ins are part of the add on...by default you can control the plugins via "normal" sliders, knobs or whatever but to get the "real" ableton look you have to buy the add on...

"but I'm pretty sure that it does not at its heart send/receive midi through the wired connection."
...it does...keep in mind: the touchable guys are also the programmers of midimux and audiomux...: http://midimux.com/
Thanks. Like i say lemur apps work with the iconnect interfaces but i think compatibility was written into the app.

From the videos it looks like some templates are built in so i'll have to factor that it, weighs in about £40 i think but cheaper than a Push lol which i have been thinking about for a while now.

musikmachine
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 12:56 am

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by musikmachine » Tue Apr 28, 2015 5:44 pm

Cool beans anyway, pretty much answered all my questions.
scheffkoch wrote:"For this exact purpose, IconnectMidi allows you to use apps/synths/Fx etc.. directly in Live and control them via midi"

...you can also use midimux for that...midimux connects any ios app with any midi controller...also just with the standard ipad cable...no need for ios midi interfaces anymore...
The icm2+ actually has a lot of routing connectivity with the midi ports. Do audio and midi work at the same time and can you route audio from Live through iPads fx? I'm just waiting for them to be ported to windows...

yur2die4
Posts: 6400
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by yur2die4 » Tue Apr 28, 2015 5:45 pm

Ad hoc on win or osx?

Honestly, from my experience any wifi option has not always been perfect. On my windows machine even less so, although I did manage to get it working. For a home network though, it works surprisingly well, and is worth installing just for the fact that you can sit in any room in your house that has wifi and load devices + make clips. (And possibly connect a midi controller. An aspect I haven't messed with yet)

The past few months I've been doing school. :/

scheffkoch
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by scheffkoch » Tue Apr 28, 2015 5:58 pm

"The icm2+ actually has a lot of routing connectivity with the midi ports. Do audio and midi work at the same time and can you route audio from Live through iPads fx? I'm just waiting for them to be ported to windows..."

...yep, audio and midi do work at the same time and yes, audio can be routed bi-directional (so you could set up an external fx "bus")...right now up to 16 channels from ipad to computer...
macbook pro late 2016, osx 10.13.6, rme multiface via sonnet thunderbolt expresscard adapter + thunderbolt to usb-c adapter, ableton live 10.0.1, push 2, komplete 9, maschine 2.7.6, touchable

musikmachine
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 12:56 am

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by musikmachine » Tue Apr 28, 2015 6:37 pm

yur2die4 wrote:Ad hoc on win or osx?

Honestly, from my experience any wifi option has not always been perfect. On my windows machine even less so, although I did manage to get it working. For a home network though, it works surprisingly well, and is worth installing just for the fact that you can sit in any room in your house that has wifi and load devices + make clips. (And possibly connect a midi controller. An aspect I haven't messed with yet)

The past few months I've been doing school. :/
Windows. I should say i've got wifi but creating an ad hoc just for wireless midi was the problem, it's been removed from Windows 8 and is a but tricky to set up iirc. I could't create a new network, hosted network support was negative.

@scheffkoch that's really good to know, icm2+ is great but having to use asio4all is not ideal for stable low latency.

The Phat Conductor
Posts: 1767
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:30 pm

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by The Phat Conductor » Tue Apr 28, 2015 10:29 pm

10.10.3 latest everything.

touchable server won't launch :(
ill gates aka the phat conductor
producer, performer + ableton/music teacher

http://www.illgates.com

fishmonkey
Posts: 4087
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by fishmonkey » Tue Apr 28, 2015 11:52 pm

have you installed the latest update from touchAble?

in case they haven't updated the documentation yet, the new server doesn't load like a standalone app anymore. if it launches okay you will have a new icon in the menubar. you can also use the Activity Monitor and search for touchable to see if it is running.
badbrainz wrote: I'm a drummer, so I'm already at an intellectual disadvantage here

Chris / touchAble
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 5:27 pm

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by Chris / touchAble » Wed Apr 29, 2015 7:27 am

@The Phat Conductor,

Our installer seems to be having a few issues with permissions on some Systems - please either try the latest 3.0.2c installer from our homepage or send us an email to support@touch-able.com - we'll be right with you to figure this out!

@musikmachine,

some of the templates are already included in the standard version, EQ Eight, Auto Filter, Ping Pong delay (iirc) :)

Cheers,
Chris

Post Reply