Launchpad Pro- step sequencer hack?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Grandmasterbird
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:04 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Launchpad Pro- step sequencer hack?

Post by Grandmasterbird » Sat Sep 05, 2015 8:03 pm

Hi all, I've been digging around some of these 3rd party hacks people have done for the launchpad range and they are amazing, but from what I can tell there doesn't seem to be one that adds step sequencing or note repeat (like on mpc's) for the Launchpad Pro.

Am I missing something? Does anyone know of one out there that does this?

It's a great bit of kit and with its velocity sensitivity if it had a step sequencer it would be killer.

Just surprised it hasn't been done yet, or has it...?!

sigabort
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: London

Re: Launchpad Pro- step sequencer hack?

Post by sigabort » Sat Sep 05, 2015 10:47 pm

Hi, I'm currently working on this in Gridlock - sign up for news if you'd like to keep up with progress..

Grandmasterbird
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:04 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Launchpad Pro- step sequencer hack?

Post by Grandmasterbird » Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:15 am

Ah excellent news!

Will this require max4 live? And will it feature the fabled mpc style note repeat? :-)

sigabort
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: London

Re: Launchpad Pro- step sequencer hack?

Post by sigabort » Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:36 am

hi, yes, it is m4l currently, tho I plan to work on some Python sequencing in the new year.

Gridlock already features per cell repeat functionality on the matrix and drumpad controls, tho this will be getting some additions...

TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: Launchpad Pro- step sequencer hack?

Post by TomViolenz » Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:50 am

So let me see if I got this right.
One of the big selling points of this not so ceap device is that it can control outbord gear without a computer involved. But this 64 pad controller does not come with an inbuild step-sequencer?!
And the only way to get one for the controller is M4L (Computer) or Phyton scripting (Computer)

Way to hamper a product Novation :roll:

I don't see why anyone would get this over the Beat Step Pro for outboard Midi.

sigabort
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: London

Re: Launchpad Pro- step sequencer hack?

Post by sigabort » Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:57 am

well, it has an open firmware, so in theory you can do anything with it...

I've been looking at the SDK for it and will also be doing a standalone sequencer for it (when I can schedule some time! :))

TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: Launchpad Pro- step sequencer hack?

Post by TomViolenz » Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:01 am

sigabort wrote:well, it has an open firmware, so in theory you can do anything with it...

I've been looking at the SDK for it and will also be doing a standalone sequencer for it (when I can schedule some time! :))
That does sound useful. Still leaving this up for the user to solve is incredibly lazy from Novation.

S4racen
Posts: 5381
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Launchpad Pro- step sequencer hack?

Post by S4racen » Sun Sep 06, 2015 10:20 am

TomViolenz wrote:
sigabort wrote:well, it has an open firmware, so in theory you can do anything with it...

I've been looking at the SDK for it and will also be doing a standalone sequencer for it (when I can schedule some time! :))
That does sound useful. Still leaving this up for the user to solve is incredibly lazy from Novation.
EDIT

Cheers
D

Grandmasterbird
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:04 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Launchpad Pro- step sequencer hack?

Post by Grandmasterbird » Sun Sep 06, 2015 10:51 am

It is a bit rubbish but then I bought it knowing it wasn't in there. I thought I would be ok just finger drumming but then I tried hammering in 16th hi-hat notes in a 125bpm track lol! Rookie error I guess.

I mean yes I could slow down the track or draw them in the old fashioned way but with the velocity sensitive pads you can get a really cool feel to the drums. Combine this with a sequencer and a note repeat/roll/flam type function and you could get some amazing expression with your drums. Or anything else you wanted to sequence for that matter.

I think Novation have missed a trick big time. I'm going to email them and see what they're saying about it, no idea if that will be any use but it's worth a shot!

Grandmasterbird
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:04 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Launchpad Pro- step sequencer hack?

Post by Grandmasterbird » Sun Sep 06, 2015 3:10 pm

In the meantime does anyone know of any other 3rd party software that adds this functionality for the LP Pro? Preferably not M4L based!

Grandmasterbird
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:04 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Launchpad Pro- step sequencer hack?

Post by Grandmasterbird » Tue Sep 08, 2015 4:56 pm

For anyone that's interested I phoned Novation and spoke to their tech support who were spot on as usual. Good customer service is hard to come by! Anyway I explained my gripes with the lack of sequencer/note repeat and they said a note repeat function may be difficult to implement because of timing issues- Ableton is the clock and to do this would possibly mean an internal arp being programmed into the Launchpad.

They also echoed what's been said about the open API and that 3rd party programs would probably be available soon that would enable step sequencing etc etc

The guy said he would forward the information onto their development team so fingers crossed. It may or may not have any impact but you don't know unless you try.

For now I'm going to enjoy what is otherwise an excellent product and keep my fingers crossed that a future update will sort it or one of these clever programmers come up with the goods!

S4racen
Posts: 5381
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Launchpad Pro- step sequencer hack?

Post by S4racen » Tue Sep 08, 2015 6:27 pm

I'm there thursday ;-)

Cheers
D

Grandmasterbird
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:04 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Launchpad Pro- step sequencer hack?

Post by Grandmasterbird » Tue Sep 08, 2015 9:34 pm

S4racen wrote:I'm there thursday ;-)

Cheers
D
Awesome! Hopefully won't need M4L......? :wink:

Edit- launchpad noob question- will loading a 3rd party script overwrite the factory functions and layout of the LP Pro or will they be in addition to what is already there so to speak?

sigabort
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: London

Re: Launchpad Pro- step sequencer hack?

Post by sigabort » Tue Sep 08, 2015 9:52 pm

always try to provide additions rather than replacements, usually by introducing button combinations to enable new functionality.

Grandmasterbird
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:04 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Launchpad Pro- step sequencer hack?

Post by Grandmasterbird » Wed Sep 09, 2015 7:58 am

sigabort wrote:always try to provide additions rather than replacements, usually by introducing button combinations to enable new functionality.
Cool thanks 8)

Post Reply