iPad

Discussion of anything not related to audio or music production
mrdelurk
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 8:45 am
Location: Pahoa
Contact:

Re: iPad

Post by mrdelurk » Wed Apr 13, 2016 9:05 am

H20nly wrote:we can't have a society of people that actually know what they're doing. it would be pure anarchy!
No worries, it won't happen. An "expert" is just someone who gets paid more for making bigger mistakes than we do.

H20nly
Posts: 15838
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: iPad

Post by H20nly » Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:58 pm

whew... that was close. we really dodged a bullet on that one. 8)

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: iPad

Post by beats me » Thu Apr 14, 2016 1:51 pm

Streaming my iPad at work over wifi.

iHeart Radio – fine
Pandora – fine
YouTube – fine
Apple Music – nonstop bufferfest. I bought an EP and it brought everything to a grinding halt and never completed the downloads. Same thing on the auto-purchased music download on my iPhone. Switched it to LTE and it downloaded the whole EP in less than a minute. :x

I’d say my work somehow blocked Apple Music but I would find it hard to believe they blocked that but not iHeart Radio, Pandora, and YouTube. :?

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: iPad

Post by beats me » Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:17 pm

So no Force Touch on anything other than the iPhone currently. Large iPad Pro was released without it and the new 9.7” iPad Pro doesn’t have it either. Of course none of the iPad Minis have it. I’m predicting Apple is going to release this for a lot more current iOS devices with iOS 10 while claiming some breakthrough software wizardry making it possible when the fact is it was always possible but they wanted to use it as a selling point only available on the last iPhone. :x

oblique strategies
Posts: 3578
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Another Green World

Re: iPad

Post by oblique strategies » Wed Apr 20, 2016 8:36 am

http://kymatica.com/Software/AUM

"AUM is the flexible audio mixer, recorder, and connection hub for your iPad, iPhone and iPod touch."

Image

Angstrom
Posts: 14667
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: iPad

Post by Angstrom » Wed Apr 20, 2016 12:25 pm

beats me wrote:So no Force Touch on anything other than the iPhone currently. Large iPad Pro was released without it and the new 9.7” iPad Pro doesn’t have it either. Of course none of the iPad Minis have it. I’m predicting Apple is going to release this for a lot more current iOS devices with iOS 10 while claiming some breakthrough software wizardry making it possible when the fact is it was always possible but they wanted to use it as a selling point only available on the last iPhone. :x
Nah,
not unless these devices already have the additional capacitive layer on the back of their displays.
http://www.macworld.com/article/2992559 ... -work.html

forcetouch (now 3d touch) requires a very specific kind of a display tech.
the iPad pros just dont have the innards for it
https://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/iPad+Pr ... down/60939

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: iPad

Post by beats me » Fri Apr 22, 2016 7:26 pm

Angstrom wrote:
beats me wrote:So no Force Touch on anything other than the iPhone currently. Large iPad Pro was released without it and the new 9.7” iPad Pro doesn’t have it either. Of course none of the iPad Minis have it. I’m predicting Apple is going to release this for a lot more current iOS devices with iOS 10 while claiming some breakthrough software wizardry making it possible when the fact is it was always possible but they wanted to use it as a selling point only available on the last iPhone. :x
Nah,
not unless these devices already have the additional capacitive layer on the back of their displays.
http://www.macworld.com/article/2992559 ... -work.html

forcetouch (now 3d touch) requires a very specific kind of a display tech.
the iPad pros just dont have the innards for it
https://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/iPad+Pr ... down/60939

It was reported some time back that Force Touch worked on some non-new iPhones on an iOS developer beta and Apple pulled an “oh shit” and quickly removed it. So I dunno.

Angstrom
Posts: 14667
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: iPad

Post by Angstrom » Fri Apr 22, 2016 8:11 pm

beats me wrote: It was reported some time back that Force Touch worked on some non-new iPhones on an iOS developer beta and Apple pulled an “oh shit” and quickly removed it. So I dunno.

I think you might be getting confused about the crucial detail there.

The jailbreak unlocked forcetouch shortcuts on older phones. Not forcetouch itself, but the shortcut menus that it can call up. So the jailbreak app simply mapped a swipe action, or a long press to draw up that menu. Which was previously hidden on older phones.
http://9to5mac.com/2015/10/15/live-phot ... r-iphones/

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: iPad

Post by beats me » Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:05 pm

Angstrom wrote:
beats me wrote: It was reported some time back that Force Touch worked on some non-new iPhones on an iOS developer beta and Apple pulled an “oh shit” and quickly removed it. So I dunno.

I think you might be getting confused about the crucial detail there.

The jailbreak unlocked forcetouch shortcuts on older phones. Not forcetouch itself, but the shortcut menus that it can call up. So the jailbreak app simply mapped a swipe action, or a long press to draw up that menu. Which was previously hidden on older phones.
http://9to5mac.com/2015/10/15/live-phot ... r-iphones/

Hm, that might be what I was thinking of. Maybe Apple will at least the long press feature in the next iOS but that also might make force touch seem redundant or at least not a selling point.

In other news, this looks pretty sweet but pricey.

http://www.macrumors.com/2016/04/26/log ... pro-stand/

I have a charging station with slots to hold devices upright but I rarely put them in the slots. So it’s more of a bulky power box I rest things on. I’ve looked for charging stations that are like an angled podium top but they don’t seem to exist with an open top where you could fit iPads and an iPhone. With this thing I wouldn’t need to plug a cable in and it’s in a nice resting position. But way pricey.

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: iPad

Post by beats me » Wed Apr 27, 2016 8:03 pm

A body was found in a conference room on the Apple Campus with a head wound and gun nearby. 8O

H20nly
Posts: 15838
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: iPad

Post by H20nly » Wed Apr 27, 2016 8:55 pm

probably went down right after trying the next iTunes beta.

yur2die4
Posts: 6423
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: iPad

Post by yur2die4 » Thu May 05, 2016 2:24 pm

https://blog.vellumatlanta.com/2016/05/ ... seriously/

Yikes. A very unhappy Apple Music subscriber.

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: iPad

Post by beats me » Thu May 05, 2016 3:30 pm

A couple things.

AFAIK AAC format should be just as good as WAV but it has a smaller file size.

“If you cancel your subscription….” This is the world we live in now and you will probably always be tied a music subscription service. Less and less people are actually buying music and their library is probably packed with a lot of temp stored files that will all disappear if they cancel their subscription service, whichever it is.

This whole thing is still in its infancy and I’m not all that shocked that there are issues between what you are renting and what you own and obviously the industry is more interested in focusing on what you are renting because that will keep you in a perpetual subscription. Early on in Apple Music Apple even removed the link to buy the tracks you are listening to. They don’t want to make it easy.

Maybe some genius will come up with an app that when you drag a file to it, it both puts a copy in iTunes and in another folder that iTunes can’t touch. Or maybe that is something that can already be done with scripting but I don’t know anything about that.

Tarekith
Posts: 17364
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: iPad

Post by Tarekith » Thu May 05, 2016 4:09 pm

AAC is a compressed file format just like MP3, so it's not identical to wav. For that you would need ALAC files, which Apple doesn't use in iTunes yet.

IMVHO AAC sounds closer to the original wav than MP3 does most of the time, but I'd be a bit pissed too if my wavs were deleted like the blog post said. Sounds kinda fishy though, but I admit I never use Apple music myself.

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: iPad

Post by beats me » Thu May 05, 2016 5:23 pm

I’m really not all that attached to file format considering it’s probably going to be out of my control what somebody else hears it in, file type and codec mangler. Plus it takes about 30 seconds to just export another copy from the DAW.

Post Reply