Why no bounce in place?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
jlgrimes
Posts: 1265
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 1:55 am
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Re: Why no bounce in place?

Post by jlgrimes » Sun Jun 10, 2018 9:28 pm

Valiumdupeuple wrote:Well, M4L to the rescue!
:wink:

Bip is slightly different.

That device seems more like a resampler which is a realtime process.

BIP works at Export or Freeze Rate which is faster than realtime.


Bip also usually mutes the original clip.


Not quite the same.


Reason has Bounce in Place but no Freeze.

IMO freeze is more useful as it helps save CPU but many people use BIP for audio editing and less for saving CPU cycles.

Valiumdupeuple
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Why no bounce in place?

Post by Valiumdupeuple » Sun Jun 10, 2018 11:11 pm

jlgrimes wrote:
Valiumdupeuple wrote:Well, M4L to the rescue!
:wink:

Bip is slightly different.

That device seems more like a resampler which is a realtime process.

BIP works at Export or Freeze Rate which is faster than realtime.


Bip also usually mutes the original clip.


Not quite the same.


Reason has Bounce in Place but no Freeze.

IMO freeze is more useful as it helps save CPU but many people use BIP for audio editing and less for saving CPU cycles.
Indeed this device works as a realtime process, that's the only and best way to fake a bounce-in-place feature with M4L. I can't beat every Live/M4L's limitations :oops: :roll:
I could add an action to mute the original track after the recording, not a big deal. I'd better go sleeping now, though :)
You're right, the main idea of this device is all about editing rather than saving CPU (which is also a good reason to use it anyway).

cmprvndncr
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 2:44 pm

Re: Why no bounce in place?

Post by cmprvndncr » Thu Jun 14, 2018 12:54 am

dna598 wrote:

ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection
Is this a wishlist?

pottering
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Why no bounce in place?

Post by pottering » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:17 pm

cmprvndncr wrote:
dna598 wrote:

ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection
Is this a wishlist?
It is how it works with Audio Clips in the Clip View (ctrl+space doesn't work in Session, only Arrangement).

In addition, with ctrl+tab and shift+tab (2x) you can move the focus from Clip View to the Arrangement and back.

cmprvndncr
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 2:44 pm

Re: Why no bounce in place?

Post by cmprvndncr » Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:44 pm

pottering wrote:
cmprvndncr wrote:
dna598 wrote:

ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection
Is this a wishlist?
It is how it works with Audio Clips in the Clip View (ctrl+space doesn't work in Session, only Arrangement).

In addition, with ctrl+tab and shift+tab (2x) you can move the focus from Clip View to the Arrangement and back.
Thanks. On a Mac ctrl + left/right changes workspaces... Hmmmmm

pottering
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Why no bounce in place?

Post by pottering » Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:19 am

Oh yeah, those are for Windows.

You probably already guessed, but for completion's sake, it is "cmd+" on Mac:

https://www.ableton.com/en/manual/live- ... le-display

cmprvndncr
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 2:44 pm

Re: Why no bounce in place?

Post by cmprvndncr » Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:05 am

pottering wrote:Oh yeah, those are for Windows.

You probably already guessed, but for completion's sake, it is "cmd+" on Mac:

https://www.ableton.com/en/manual/live- ... le-display
Thankyou much for your help.

cmprvndncr
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 2:44 pm

Re: Why no bounce in place?

Post by cmprvndncr » Sun Jun 17, 2018 7:56 am

pottering wrote:Oh yeah, those are for Windows.

You probably already guessed, but for completion's sake, it is "cmd+" on Mac:

https://www.ableton.com/en/manual/live- ... le-display
It's alt + tab on mac :)

SaxUtopia
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: Why no bounce in place?

Post by SaxUtopia » Mon Nov 11, 2019 11:12 am

Command J (join) works for me... it allows me to treat the edited clips as a single clip - say vocal track and then treat it as I need.
Cubase 9, Finale V26, Ableton Live lite 8&9&10 suite
Windows7 & 10 Mac Mojave

Lokan
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 3:22 pm

Re: Why no bounce in place?

Post by Lokan » Mon Nov 18, 2019 9:19 am

Playing round with Bitwig Studio, I like how it implemented this feature.
In Bitwig, people can just alt+drag & drop a midi clip to bounce it into an audio clip.

Currently in Live, when a midi clip is dragged into audio clip there are two scenarios

If the audio clip contains no clip, the audio track is converted into a midi track.
Otherwise, drag and drop is disabled, i.e Midi clips cannot be dragged into an audio track.

So I guess BIP can be implemented as simple as dragging midi clips into audio.

It also feels like a reverse action of "convert audio clip to midi clip" feature.

Post Reply