mapping macros in fx rack= crash

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
allanaceflyer
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 5:55 pm
Location: Manchester UK

mapping macros in fx rack= crash

Post by allanaceflyer » Wed Mar 20, 2019 9:57 pm

every time i try to map a macro live crashes 10.6 windows 10[all versions of 10]
midi mapping works everthing else i use in live seems good
crashes with lives devices or plug ins it not fussy
i got alot of racks but sometimes its time for more
any one got trhis happening
just asking

alexang
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 6:30 am

Re: mapping macros in fx rack= crash

Post by alexang » Sat Apr 06, 2019 6:33 am

CONSTANTLY!

Save iterations of your sets after every major tweak you do... like Song 01, Song 02, Song 03.

The crash bug happens randomly when you create FX or Instrument racks that map 1 knob to multiple channels inside the rack for me.

Once this bug happen you are EFFED! The set basically becomes corrupted and no matter what you try, it's screwed up and will crash out from that point onwards.

You have to revert to a previous version.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1680
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: mapping macros in fx rack= crash

Post by [jur] » Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:44 am

Send those crash packs with details to support@ableton.com
Ableton Forum Moderator

Fanu
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 7:50 pm
Location: Helsinki

Re: mapping macros in fx rack= crash

Post by Fanu » Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:55 am

alexang wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 6:33 am
CONSTANTLY!

Save iterations of your sets after every major tweak you do... like Song 01, Song 02, Song 03.
As long as you keep saving with the same filename, you'll get automatic backups of the previously saved states in the Backups folder.
Image
Mastering & mixing by Fanu | Ableton Live Basics tutorial video
Mixing and mastering engineer | Ableton Certified Trainer

alexang
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 6:30 am

Re: mapping macros in fx rack= crash

Post by alexang » Sat Apr 06, 2019 12:18 pm

Is there any chance that these backups will become corrupted too?


When Ableton finally offers a crash reporting without my need to upload 100s of MB of files I'll do it.

My internet no bueno. Will take me hours to upload 1 crash report file.

Mark Williams
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Deal, Kent

Re: mapping macros in fx rack= crash

Post by Mark Williams » Sat Apr 06, 2019 12:59 pm

crash reports are no where near that size, and it is only 1 Zip file, mine no more than 1 mb
Live 10,Push 2, Maschine MK3 & KK S61 MK2, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, Softube Console 1 Mk2, Deepmind 12D, K-2,Roland MC-707, Komplete 12, Minitaur,TC Electronics M1XL, Waves Audio Beta tester
Get 10% off Waves Plugins https://www.waves.com/r/r0z5tks

alexang
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 6:30 am

Re: mapping macros in fx rack= crash

Post by alexang » Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:12 pm

They quickly bloat if your project is more than just a trivial example.

Image

Mark Williams
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Deal, Kent

Re: mapping macros in fx rack= crash

Post by Mark Williams » Sat Apr 06, 2019 4:44 pm

Mine are nowhere near that large, and I do a lot of audio Beta testing so expect a few crashes here and there.

Image
Live 10,Push 2, Maschine MK3 & KK S61 MK2, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, Softube Console 1 Mk2, Deepmind 12D, K-2,Roland MC-707, Komplete 12, Minitaur,TC Electronics M1XL, Waves Audio Beta tester
Get 10% off Waves Plugins https://www.waves.com/r/r0z5tks

alexang
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 6:30 am

Re: mapping macros in fx rack= crash

Post by alexang » Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:09 pm

That's always been my problem though. When I try to recreate the crash issues. It never fails on a small fresh set. It's only on large sets where it's actually a big deal when it does the macro-crash-corrupt thing.

It's always the assigning macros that cause it.

Post Reply