Project from Mac OS to Windows - Live 10.1 - A serious error has occured

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
anthony-deloeuvre
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 3:33 pm

Project from Mac OS to Windows - Live 10.1 - A serious error has occured

Post by anthony-deloeuvre » Mon Jun 03, 2019 9:22 am

Hi,

I hope someone can help me with this.

Audio is playing for a moment and randomly the song stop, the audio is looping with a weird sound, then a pop up appear saying that " A serious program error has occured ..."

It happens every time randomly after few minutes playing audio.

Any idea would be appreciated !

My specs :
i5 6600
16 Go Ram
Windows 10

Motu 828ES USB
Audio in 44.1K

Live 10.1 & Push 1
Plug VST 2 only with legit licences
In this project : Omnisphere, Analog Lab, Valhalla room and shimmer, Soundtoys Little plate & Decapitator
Last edited by anthony-deloeuvre on Mon Jun 03, 2019 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Cannot work anymore - Live 10.1 - A serious error has occured

Post by [jur] » Mon Jun 03, 2019 10:56 am

You should contact support@ableton.com asap.
Ableton Forum Moderator

jestermgee
Posts: 3446
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: Cannot work anymore - Live 10.1 - A serious error has occured

Post by jestermgee » Mon Jun 03, 2019 10:58 am

Does it happen with any project or just a certain one?

First thing would be to contact support and ask if they can help with what is causing the issue. They can often tell you what device is causing the crash.

Second thing you could do is if it happens on cue and you can recreate the issue, methodically remove one device and test again. Then ensure that device is up to date

If it happens with any project and the plugins differ between projects then it could be your audio interface or drivers. First thing I would test is try a diferent USB port, then try reinstall the drivers (if possible) and finally, test with a different software package if possible or at least create a completely empty project with no effects and start with just an audio clip for a while then try a synth then keep adding stuff.

I've had similar issues in the past, one problem case was caused by Eventide Reverb plugin that was crashing Live for some reason after Live was updated but a few users must have had the issue and Eventide released an update after a month but Ableton support was the ones that told me what the issue was after sending a crash report so that's always worth the benefit of having a licensed version of Live.

anthony-deloeuvre
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: Cannot work anymore - Live 10.1 - A serious error has occured

Post by anthony-deloeuvre » Mon Jun 03, 2019 1:11 pm

Thank you for your answer jestermgee.

I think my issue is solved beause I was unable to reproduce the error after doing this :

- To understand, I looked inside windows logs to see if there was more info, and I saw that my motu pro audio Asio driver was involved. So I tried to use an older version of the driver, but the crash happened again.

- Then I tried to figure out if the problem was only with this particular project, and I was unable to reproduce the problem with an other project.

- So I came back to my project, and started to freeze tracks with virtual Instruments and replace them by audio. I did it for multiple instance of omnisphere, but it crashed again, and then I did it for multiple instance of analog lab 4, and found one instance that was completely bugged, with a non-sense UI, and my licence appeared to be off ... weird. But I couldn't see the patch name I used, and didn't want to loose its, so I tried to freeze the track, it worked, I replaced it with audio, and then I was unable to reproduce the problem.

-> The project has been created on a hackintosh, that could be part of the problem that I forgot to say ...

Post Reply