Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
pix
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 8:32 am

Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?

Post by pix » Wed Aug 01, 2018 4:51 am

bumping this...it seems odd that you can't tweak say an effect on a return channel while you're playing another track with the pads.

cmprvndncr
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 2:44 pm

Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?

Post by cmprvndncr » Wed Aug 01, 2018 5:14 am

pix wrote:bumping this...it seems odd that you can't tweak say an effect on a return channel while you're playing another track with the pads.
it IS odd...

The push is just a work in progress... Pretty cool still...

yur2die4
Posts: 6545
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?

Post by yur2die4 » Sun Aug 26, 2018 3:41 am

It is a work. Progress seems to have slowed :P

OCH
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:49 am
Contact:

Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?

Post by OCH » Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:25 am

I was also looking for a solution for this.
People have been having this problem for ages [1] [2] [3] [4] [5]
I built this simple m4l device and I feel good with what I achieved:
-no need to switch to user mode,
-no need to setup new control surfaces,
-just drop this device anywhere, and it can reconnect if push is unplugged,
-new shortcut (Shift+Solo) that doesn't interfere with any Push2 defaults,
-get visual feedback directly on Push2 display

get it here: och.lockdevice2push2

Waldgeist
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 6:37 pm

Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?

Post by Waldgeist » Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:57 pm

I can't believe this is still not possible. This limits the use cases for the Push drastically.

cmprvndncr
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 2:44 pm

Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?

Post by cmprvndncr » Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:09 pm

Waldgeist wrote:I can't believe this is still not possible. This limits the use cases for the Push drastically.
yeah it's dumb. It makes sense that maybe Ableton doesn't want to allow you to use other controllers.

cmprvndncr
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 2:44 pm

Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?

Post by cmprvndncr » Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:09 pm

Waldgeist wrote:I can't believe this is still not possible. This limits the use cases for the Push drastically.
yeah it's dumb. It makes sense that maybe Ableton doesn't want to allow you to use other controllers.

Joshua Boden
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 2:14 am
Location: NOVA/DC
Contact:

Post by Joshua Boden » Tue Nov 20, 2018 9:01 am

COME ON ABES IT HAS LITERALLY BEEN FUCKING YEARS!!!!! WHY ARE WE STILL STRUGGLING WITH THIS!!!!! :twisted:

McAnix
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?

Post by McAnix » Fri Nov 30, 2018 4:08 pm

I have spent a 2 full days wrecking my brain to figure a workaround, not even close.

So many people have been asking for this for years and it's still not possible, c'mon Ableton!

Any centrecode links I can upvote? The one's here don't work.

McAnix
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?

Post by McAnix » Fri Nov 30, 2018 4:16 pm

I found this link:

https://ableton.centercode.com/project/ ... de16ab5ddb

Please take the time to join the beta and upvote this essential feature!

Danny Mal
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:51 am

Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?

Post by Danny Mal » Thu Apr 16, 2020 9:29 pm

cmprvndncr wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:09 pm
Waldgeist wrote:I can't believe this is still not possible. This limits the use cases for the Push drastically.
yeah it's dumb. It makes sense that maybe Ableton doesn't want to allow you to use other controllers.
Wait, what? They literally support a whole bunch of controllers natively. It's not to do with them being exclusive. This isn't apple. Its just a design choice which Is clearly a limiting one. I think the most obvious fix for this would be if they could implement the pads to work as a regular midi controller in user mode. Currently they render as useless in user mode so this would also kill two birds with one stone.

Iv been supporting the need for this for years and the only workaround I have found is to run two ableton sessions running in parralell through link mode. Obviously you need two computers/interfaces so probably no help to most but for those that find themselves fortunate enough it does work.

dna598
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:42 am

Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?

Post by dna598 » Thu May 28, 2020 9:52 am

I have found a solution in the interim. Use another DAW that makes better use of Push. Sad, but true.
ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection

baseinstinct
Posts: 741
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 3:45 am

Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?

Post by baseinstinct » Thu May 28, 2020 2:07 pm

What's that daw and what's the trick that lets you use push?

I thought Push was 'handshaken' to play only with live.

dna598
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:42 am

Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?

Post by dna598 » Thu May 28, 2020 3:34 pm

baseinstinct wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 2:07 pm
What's that daw and what's the trick that lets you use push?

I thought Push was 'handshaken' to play only with live.

Reaper. There is a script available for using Push, and it works without the issue described in this thread. Armed tracks remain armed on the pads, when tweaking other channels and devices.

I learnt the whole program just to get my money's worth out of Push. :D
ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection

miyaru
Posts: 949
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Way to lock push on one instrument for note mode?

Post by miyaru » Thu May 28, 2020 8:02 pm

With a special M4L piece of software it works also for Reason! I have to lookup what it is called, but works like a charm!!!!! I guess it was Pusher2.
Greetings from Miyaru.

Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 3rd gen, Live Suit 10, Push2, Reason Suite 11, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

Post Reply