EQ4 (& EQ8) as Resonant Filter UPDATED for Live 5.2 + 6

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
M. Bréqs
Posts: 1479
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 6:02 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

EQ4 (& EQ8) as Resonant Filter UPDATED for Live 5.2 + 6

Post by M. Bréqs » Wed May 24, 2006 11:40 pm

You can use an EQ 4 instead of a filter. Try these settings for frequencies 1, 2, 3 and 4 on an EQ 4 and you'll find that it's not only a very solid filter, but it's also completely "transparent" when fully open (ie no resonant muddiness on fully open high pass, no resonant sharpness on fully open low pass).

Grab the number one and number four frequencies and tweak away!!! I find I use between 2 and 3 resonance the most often.

The pictures that follow show each individual frequency one at a time. The leftmost instance of the effect is Frequency 1, while the rightmost is frequency 4. It's not necessary to use four individual effects for this.


Q=1.0, virtually no resonance
Image
Freq 1: Freq = ???, Gain = 0, Q = 1.00
Freq 2: Freq = 40, Gain = -1.20, Q = 0.40
Freq 3: Freq = 18.5k, Gain = -1.20, Q = 0.40
Freq 4: Freq = ???, Gain = 0, Q = 1.00


Q=2.0, mild resonance
Image
Freq 1: Freq = ???, Gain = 0, Q = 2.00
Freq 2: Freq = 40, Gain = -6.43, Q = 0.94
Freq 3: Freq = 18.5k, Gain = -6.43, Q = 0.94
Freq 4: Freq = ???, Gain = 0, Q = 2.00



Q=2.5 resonance
Image
Freq 1: Freq = ???, Gain = 0, Q = 2.50
Freq 2: Freq = 40, Gain = -8.13, Q = 1.10
Freq 3: Freq = 18.5k, Gain = -8.13, Q = 1.10
Freq 4: Freq = ???, Gain = 0, Q = 2.50


Q=2.75
Image
Freq 1: Freq = ???, Gain = 0, Q = 2.75
Freq 2: Freq = 40, Gain = -9.00, Q = 1.25
Freq 3: Freq = 18.5k, Gain = -9.00, Q = 1.25
Freq 4: Freq = ???, Gain = 0, Q = 2.75


Q=3.0, very resonant
Image
Freq 1: Freq = ???, Gain = 0, Q = 3.00
Freq 2: Freq = 40, Gain = -9.70, Q = 1.30
Freq 3: Freq = 18.5k, Gain = -9.70, Q = 1.30
Freq 4: Freq = ???, Gain = 0, Q = 3.00


Q=4.0, watch your levels, this one's hot!
Image
Freq 1: Freq = ???, Gain = 0, Q = 4.00

Freq 2: Freq = 40, Gain = -12.00, Q = 1.53
Freq 3: Freq = 18.5k, Gain = -12.00, Q = 1.53
Freq 4: Freq = ???, Gain = 0, Q = 4.00



And when the filters are completely open, even with crazy high resonance, they'll be transparent:


Q=4.0, fully open there's no effect on the output signal
Image
Last edited by M. Bréqs on Fri Aug 11, 2006 11:38 pm, edited 4 times in total.

M. Bréqs
Posts: 1479
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 6:02 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Automating your EQ4 resonant filter

Post by M. Bréqs » Wed May 24, 2006 11:43 pm

Now, here's a problem with automating the EQ4 as a resonant filter. The envelopes only go from +50% to -50%. Thus, with a low pass filter full open, it seems impossible to automate a complete sweep down to 40 hertz. But this is not the case!

Since you're limited to +50% and =50%, you'll need to set the points for frequency 1 and 4 to around the halfway point. Then, you'll need to draw a clip envelope at +50%. Now, you can filter sweep down to 0% (which will be effectively half way down, since that's where you set your "knob") and you can go down to -50%, which will be a complete filter sweep out.

Check the setting for Frequency 4: I have it at 1.05 KHz, but it's fully open (look at the fact that the entire circle is orange, not black).


Image


Now, this is why: I have set my filter ENVELOPE to +50% so as to compensate for having the knob halfway down:

Image



So you can see, if I want to make a filter sweep, I can do so with a filter envelope from +50% to -50%. (Note, that for a high pass filter it will be a sweep in the opposite direction, from -50% to +50%.


Image

Hope that all helps!!!

M. Bréqs
Posts: 1479
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 6:02 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

EQ8 as VARIABLE resonance filter

Post by M. Bréqs » Fri Aug 11, 2006 11:41 pm

Hey all. Try these settings for a VARIABLE resonance filter in Live 6 using the EQ8. It's still 99% transparent when fully open!

Image


Just create a device group for your EQ8, and midi map the controls as you see it in the picture above. It should give you a very transparent filter.

I'm working on the 4 pole version tomorrow.

L8er
Last edited by M. Bréqs on Sat Aug 12, 2006 4:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

hoffman2k
Posts: 14677
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Sat Aug 12, 2006 8:33 am

looks like somebody has "rack fever" :lol:

Nice stuff man.

M. Bréqs
Posts: 1479
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 6:02 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

4 pole (24 db) filter with variable resonance

Post by M. Bréqs » Sat Aug 12, 2006 8:49 pm

Hey all. Another M. Bréqs creation.

a 24 db (4 pole) hp / lp filter with variable resonance.



Image

gregorythis
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 10:26 pm

Post by gregorythis » Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:22 pm

where did that mapping button come from??
the one below the 3 folders and the clip dilly thing?
for some reason on my beta im not seeing it
this might be lame but would it be possible for you to just load up the effect racks or whatever..
i think i would understand this a lot more if i could play with it and such.

M. Bréqs
Posts: 1479
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 6:02 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by M. Bréqs » Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:56 pm

gregorythis wrote:where did that mapping button come from??
the one below the 3 folders and the clip dilly thing?
for some reason on my beta im not seeing it
this might be lame but would it be possible for you to just load up the effect racks or whatever..
i think i would understand this a lot more if i could play with it and such.
It's in the rack itself, above the 8 knobs. The 8 knobs may be hidden, there's three little toggle buttons on the extreme left, one of them will unhide them.

As for uploading the effect, in Beta 6 import and export of Device Groups wasn't working. If that has been fixed in Beta 7, then I will try to find someplace to host the .adg and post a link here.

...But it won't happen before the weekend.

MB

vip32
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:12 am

Post by vip32 » Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:14 pm

M. Bréqs wrote:
gregorythis wrote:where did that mapping button come from??
the one below the 3 folders and the clip dilly thing?
for some reason on my beta im not seeing it
this might be lame but would it be possible for you to just load up the effect racks or whatever..
i think i would understand this a lot more if i could play with it and such.
It's in the rack itself, above the 8 knobs. The 8 knobs may be hidden, there's three little toggle buttons on the extreme left, one of them will unhide them.

As for uploading the effect, in Beta 6 import and export of Device Groups wasn't working. If that has been fixed in Beta 7, then I will try to find someplace to host the .adg and post a link here.

...But it won't happen before the weekend.

MB
have you managed to host the this .adg somewhere?

M. Bréqs
Posts: 1479
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 6:02 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by M. Bréqs » Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:22 pm

SENT via email!
Last edited by M. Bréqs on Sun Nov 19, 2006 9:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

M. Bréqs
Posts: 1479
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 6:02 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by M. Bréqs » Sun Nov 19, 2006 9:04 pm

Update;

If anybody wants a copy of the .adg, drop me a PM and I can send it out.

mooncaine
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 9:22 pm

Post by mooncaine » Sun Jul 01, 2007 6:10 am

Wow, it's very cool that you show the screens, so we can make our own ... but here's a Q: how do you do a filter sweep with this? What do you assign your knob to?

M. Bréqs
Posts: 1479
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 6:02 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by M. Bréqs » Sun Jul 01, 2007 8:23 pm

mooncaine wrote:Wow, it's very cool that you show the screens, so we can make our own ... but here's a Q: how do you do a filter sweep with this? What do you assign your knob to?
Assign your midi knobs to the freq of frequency 1, (it's macro 1 and it's labeled "HPF" in my example above) and another to the freq of frequency 4 (it's macro 2 and labeled "LPF" in my example above). That way you can sweep to your heart's content.

hardgristle
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:14 pm

Re: EQ4 (& EQ8) as Resonant Filter UPDATED for Live 5.2 + 6

Post by hardgristle » Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:06 pm

Hi M. Bréqs,

Not sure if this works the same way in Live 8 but if its does I would really appreciate getting
a copy of the .adg file to save me some time. Please email to mac_hater @ hotmail.co.uk

Cheers
hardgristle

Post Reply