Just got my new computer!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
nebulae
Posts: 15715
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:16 am
Location: New Orleans
Contact:

Re: Just ordered my new computer!

Post by nebulae » Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:19 pm

deepee wrote:Wow. That computer is as tall as your guitar!
Yup! And it's ugly as sin too!

(and it'll run circles around a Mac priced 3x as much)

(yes, I went there. deal with it)
Image Image Image Image

sigabort
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: London

Re: Just ordered my new computer!

Post by sigabort » Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:22 pm

congrats... btw, I would be tempted to replace the stock cooler with one of these http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/ha ... eview.html

not too pricy, alot quieter, and more effective than the stock fan. am sure there are lots of other coolers around aswell, but this works well for me. just make sure you have a deeeep case

funky shit
Posts: 3977
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 9:50 pm
Location: Earth

Re: Just ordered my new computer!

Post by funky shit » Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:46 pm

nebulae wrote:
deepee wrote:Wow. That computer is as tall as your guitar!
(and it'll run circles around a Mac priced 3x as much)

(yes, I went there. deal with it)
<3
Image

nebulae
Posts: 15715
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:16 am
Location: New Orleans
Contact:

Re: Just ordered my new computer!

Post by nebulae » Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:50 pm

^ I've used the stock Intel fan for my last few processors. They are quiet, and since I have no need for overclocking, I don't mess with changing those parts around, or deal with voltages and clock speeds. I just plug it and play, and everything screams!
Image Image Image Image

funky shit
Posts: 3977
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 9:50 pm
Location: Earth

Re: Just ordered my new computer!

Post by funky shit » Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:57 pm

I got a core 2 duo with 4 gig of ram today. apparently the ram is shit hot. dont know the exact speed of the processor ill check tomorrow.
But also got a 26" screen.

Cant wait to load this badboy up. I was working fine with a 3.0 pentium untill recently where ive been doing a lot of bus tracks and re-routing and using some cpu heavy vsts. Nothing drastic happened but this new processor should do the job for a while.
Image

nebulae
Posts: 15715
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:16 am
Location: New Orleans
Contact:

Re: Just ordered my new computer!

Post by nebulae » Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:04 pm

Since we're talking components, those of you who are Costco members:
http://www.costco.com/Browse/Product.as ... lang=en-US

Image

Mine is coming tomorrow :)
Image Image Image Image

Dalibor Loncar
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 4:31 pm

Re: Just ordered my new computer!

Post by Dalibor Loncar » Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:10 pm

ethios4 wrote:
I was surprised to see 8 cores in task manager, for a quad-core system, although I had read that each core can have two simultaneous threads. So, quad-core eight-thread. Nice!
nice system, dude ...

yup, intel introduced hyperthreading technology with the i7 platform again.

Pitch Black
Posts: 6451
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Just ordered my new computer!

Post by Pitch Black » Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:43 pm

ethios4 wrote:Opened up...notice the acoustic foam on the inside wall, top, and bottom.

Image
Wow! There really is a Recording Studio inside your computer! :lol:

nebulae
Posts: 15715
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:16 am
Location: New Orleans
Contact:

Re: Just ordered my new computer!

Post by nebulae » Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:58 pm

I wanna know if Ethios4 has had sex with it yet.
Image Image Image Image

McQ714
Posts: 1851
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:12 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Re: Just ordered my new computer!

Post by McQ714 » Tue Jul 21, 2009 10:05 pm

if i may offer a suggestion... get rid of that ribbon cable and replace with a round cable and move the rest of the cables well away from your RAM. and if it were me, i too would opt for a larger cpu cooler but it's not really necessary if you're not overclocking. i would go for the Noctua NH-U12P SE1366 or the coolermaster v10 hybrid if i had an i7 processor.

Neb.. i've got two of the Hanns-G/Hannspree/I-Inc 28" monitors. 1 at work and 1 for my daw. haven't had a problem with em yet. picture looks great and it's nice to have 1080p at an unbelievably low price. the only issue with the picture is if you are not looking at the screen straight on, the image gets a little dark. otherwise, pretty good monitor. the company is actually located about 2 miles from where i live so if i did have a problem, i'd drive the thing back to them.

CR78
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 2:04 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Just ordered my new computer!

Post by CR78 » Tue Jul 21, 2009 10:08 pm

I just finished my i7 build.
Went with Gigabyte UD4P mobo and this Harley Killer....

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/ha ... eview.html

Tone Deft
Posts: 24038
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: Just ordered my new computer!

Post by Tone Deft » Tue Jul 21, 2009 10:09 pm

deepee wrote:Wow. That computer is as tall as your guitar!
yeah, love that shot!!

acoustic treatments inside the box, styley!!
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, POD500HDX, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

ethios4
Posts: 5377
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 6:28 am

Re: Just ordered my new computer!

Post by ethios4 » Tue Jul 21, 2009 10:39 pm

McQ714 wrote:if i may offer a suggestion... get rid of that ribbon cable and replace with a round cable and move the rest of the cables well away from your RAM.
Good idea. It's surprisingly cable-ish in there for having so few drives, etc.

I wonder what vocalists will think when I tell them to get in my sound isolation booth and point to the computer? :twisted:

And yes, I made sure to put plastic sheets down and wear a condom when I opened the box. :wink:


I have had the same computer for almost five years...it's a beautiful feeling I have now> :D

stutter
Posts: 488
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 3:58 pm

Re: Just got my new computer!

Post by stutter » Tue Jul 21, 2009 11:26 pm

the difference must be ridiculous.

How's ASIO performance? Would you mind running DPC latency checker so we can see if the mobo runs without anything dodgy happening?
(sorry, I'm sure you have better things to do with it)

loquat
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 4:36 am
Location: Vancouver

Re: Just got my new computer!

Post by loquat » Tue Jul 21, 2009 11:42 pm

Nice looking system. 8)
BTW what is your audio interface?

Post Reply