THE Rack List. (What can you do with Racks?)

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
arachnaut
Posts: 951
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by arachnaut » Wed Sep 23, 2009 9:11 pm

zalo wrote:...
but here is v2 of the Juggler

http://www.wearerockstars.com/zalo/Jugglerv2.alp

mess around with it and give me some feedback!!
Wonderful rack! Very well done!!

zalo
Posts: 999
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 9:10 pm

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by zalo » Wed Sep 23, 2009 9:41 pm

arachnaut wrote:
zalo wrote:...
but here is v2 of the Juggler

http://www.wearerockstars.com/zalo/Jugglerv2.alp

mess around with it and give me some feedback!!
Wonderful rack! Very well done!!
thanks!

@Ed Lektron

open it up, its easier to see than explain, the chopping gets done last

arachnaut
Posts: 951
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by arachnaut » Wed Sep 23, 2009 10:32 pm

Audio Effect Rack for Live 8.

A fairly simple, straightforward distortion effect, which can be sublime or ugly.
Good for guitar sounds and leads.

It takes the Overdrive, follows it with an ugly, but adjustable waveshaper, and finishes it off with a Dynamic Tube mellower.

http://www.arachnaut.net/audio/Live/OverDistortion.adg

Namihei
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 1:32 pm
Location: Japan
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by Namihei » Sat Sep 26, 2009 4:46 am


davepermen
Posts: 2198
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:38 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by davepermen » Sun Sep 27, 2009 4:23 pm

well, I guess I should add my rack to here:

a 3x equalizer for dj's with 0db at the midpoint, -36db -> 6db full range, all only with ableton racks.

i used the sweeper rack to have non-coloring filters, and such. it's in this thread (with more detail):

http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php? ... 48&start=0

and the link directly:

http://davepermen.net/D4L%20CrossFilter.adg

even if it's maybe not that good, it should be a possible inspiration for a little different solutions.
http://davepermen.net my tiny webpage, including link to bandcamp.

R.A.W.
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: hamburg|de
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by R.A.W. » Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:51 pm

zalo wrote:[...] it is now stereo and also less CPU intensive. [...]

but here is v2 of the Juggler

http://www.wearerockstars.com/zalo/Jugglerv2.alp

mess around with it and give me some feedback!!
Hi zalo,
great rack. While I was checking it out yesterday evening I found a better way for you to use stereo. Instead of having seperate chains for left and right you can use one chain. All you have to do is to set the "Phase" of the auto-pans to 0°. That way the left and right channel are processed the same.
Ed Lektron wrote:One question for Zalo though - how did you split up the incoming signal into beats (1,2,3,4) for each chain ? I can't figure out how you've done it!
He used serial autopans to chop up the audio. When you open up the rack and play with it you'll understand quite fast how it works.
ThinkPad T500,Core 2 Duo T9600 (2x2,8GHz)/3GB RAM/Radeon HD3650/FireWire 410/WinXP SP3 32bit
AMD Phenom II X4 3.2GHz/4GB RAM/GeForce GTX460/ESI U24 XL/Win7 x64
Ableton Live 8/energyXT2/APC40/MPKmini/LaunchPad/TriggerFinger
http://www.bitmud.com

zalo
Posts: 999
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 9:10 pm

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by zalo » Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:43 pm

R.A.W. wrote:Hi zalo,
great rack. While I was checking it out yesterday evening I found a better way for you to use stereo. Instead of having seperate chains for left and right you can use one chain. All you have to do is to set the "Phase" of the auto-pans to 0°. That way the left and right channel are processed the same.
thanks! now even more cpu efficient!!!!

i reworked it and also put an eighth note version with no on/off switch, that i have named the Rearranger

http://www.wearerockstars.com/zalo/foru ... ranger.alp

madtho
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 2:23 am

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by madtho » Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:49 am

Hey all.
Since moving to an Intel Mac, I've been missing the sweet sounds of the fish fillets plugins, especially Blockfish. So I gave it a whirl this evening and threw together this vague approximation of Blockfish. The only reason I find myself opening up the rack to tweak is for the locut freq, and some of the Dynamic Tube settings. Otherwise I just leave it folded up. The only Blockfish setting I wasn't able to get was the VCA/Opto switch. I don't like how the macro knob scrolls through RMS-Peak-Opto, so I just left it off. It doesn't sound so much like Blockfish, but you can use it that way.

My other project, and I'll call it moderately successful, is the Live/Neve 1081 EQ. I actually took the frequency points from the new Chandler Little Devil EQ which is mostly based on the 1081.
If you want to use this like a hardware unit, then use only one Lo Mid freq at a time, and one Hi Mid freq at a time. On the hardware, the mids are actually frequency point switches. Q affects all frequencies (Hi or Lo mid) the same amount.
Again, sounds nothing like a 1081, or the Chandler Little Devil, but it sounds good, and is fun to use.

have fun!
I'd love to hear what you're doing with them—send me links to whatever you do!
-mad
Last edited by madtho on Tue Nov 03, 2009 8:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
...and Bananarama in the back of an Acura

Tarekith
Posts: 17309
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by Tarekith » Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:22 pm

Updated link, the one on the first page is VERY old:

http://tarekith.com/assets/TarekithDJEFXv7.zip

djgroovy
Posts: 2025
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:15 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by djgroovy » Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:17 pm

Tarekith wrote:Updated link, the one on the first page is VERY old:

http://tarekith.com/assets/TarekithDJEFXv7.zip
Woot, love your dj racks Tarekith!

arachnaut
Posts: 951
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by arachnaut » Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:29 am

Requires Live 8 - Operator, Corpus.

This instrument generates spooky sounds, just in time for Halloween!

Point your speakers out a window, play a few notes in a loop, and this will keep any sane person away (or at least not in the mood for candy).

Warning - not responsible for attracting werewolves, vampires, ghouls, the undead, etc.

Do not run for longer than 30 seconds, continued use is hazardous to your health.

http://www.arachnaut.net/audio/Overload/Mysterioso3.als

arbee
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 3:44 am
Location: québec city
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by arbee » Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:13 am

nice work guys, it's pretty fun to use those user-made racks.

djgroovy
Posts: 2025
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:15 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by djgroovy » Thu Oct 29, 2009 11:47 am

The Audio Synth FX rack - requires Live 8.

Uses resonator, frequency & ring shifter, vocoder and grain delay to synthify your audio loops.

Audio Synth

Jekblad
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:02 am
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by Jekblad » Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:49 pm

a filterbank 914 emulation

Live 8

Filterbank 914 Emu.adg - 0.20MB
2.4 ghz Macbook Pro 8gb RAM, SSD, Live 9 Suite, Puremagnetik, Minimal Talent

garyboozy
Posts: 2576
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by garyboozy » Tue Nov 03, 2009 5:58 pm

Sampler Timestretching Racks for Live 7 & 8

Thought this might interest some of you who want time stretching in Sampler.

The crapily-monikered 'VeloStretch' comes in 2 versions, both available in the .zip link below. 'VeloStretch DR' is a drum rack that's designed to be used as a Slicing preset (drop it in Library/Defaults/Slicing), and 'VeloStretch' is the Sampler instrument rack.


>>> Sampler VeloStretch Racks <<<

Post Reply