Midi notes not sounding?

Share your favorite Ableton Live tips, tricks, and techniques.
telecatster

Midi notes not sounding?

Post by telecatster » Sun Jun 28, 2009 11:37 pm

Hey guys-

This is my first post. I've been using Ableton for about two months now and am starting to get a handle on it. One problem that has been bugging me, however, is that when I record midi parts every once in a while there will be a note that won't sound. Every other note will sound but throughout the entire clip one note won't. I can fix this by replaying the part and overdubbing the notes and it works just fine but I've been considering playing some live shows and that won't fly. Any suggestions?

Also, as a side note if anyone has any suggestions on ways to creatively use the Sampler instrument I'd love to hear them. I've been playing with it and have some cool sounds but I feel as though I don't completely understand it.

Thanks,
Rick

telecatster

Re: Midi notes not sounding?

Post by telecatster » Fri Jul 03, 2009 11:45 pm

No ideas?

longjohns

Post by longjohns » Sat Jul 04, 2009 12:44 am

telecatster wrote:
Also, as a side note if anyone has any suggestions on ways to creatively use the Sampler instrument I'd love to hear them. I've been playing with it and have some cool sounds but I feel as though I don't completely understand it.

Thanks,
Rick
well a great deal of the strange possibilities lie in the filters/osc tab and the MIDI tab.

play with routing the LFO's to different parameters, and likewise with the MIDI section

[nednerb]

Post by [nednerb] » Sat Jul 04, 2009 2:09 pm

As one check on your silent midi notes, is the velocity of the silent midi note as high as the rest? Maybe you accidentally played too lightly and the sound is there?? Otherwise, I wouldn't know about that problem myself.

As for Sampler, I recommend the FM OSC modulation envelope on the Pitch/Osc tab. Live manipulation of the envelope can make very intriguing sounds.

This is an example: