hi! would appreciate some help if you can!

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
gordon_strange

hi! would appreciate some help if you can!

Post by gordon_strange » Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:55 pm

Hi. Clearly i'm new to the forum, but i have been lurking around for sometime!

I have some questions, that i would really appreciate you answering for me.

I'm gonna give you some background if thats ok, and i hope it will enable you to help me out. I have been a traditional dj for the best part of 20 years. using vinyl and cd, in club set ups.

I'm not very technically minded and don't really understand about midi, vst's, racks, etc etc. i have an idea of what things are, and how they work, but i wouldn't say i have a working knowledge.

i have been playing with ableton 7 on my desktop pc, for the last 18 months, and have fallen in love!

i use the arrangement view to make dj mixes, and really enjoy using it. it feels more like i'm producing something rather than making a dj mix.

anyway, i've decided to take the plunge and buy a midi controller, and do more of a live dj thing.

i would like some help in choosing a controller (i have a spec heavy laptop, as a friend of mine is tech savy and its going to be fine).

from looking around here and other places, it seems that for a complete noob like me, the apc 20 or the m audio uc33e

as apparently you just stick the usb in, and it all syncs up and works, but you can map things later if you want.

what would you guys reccomend?

also, i like to loop things on the fly, like on the cdj's. can i do that with ableton in session view? and if i can, would one of these controllers let me do it (ideally two buttons one in sample, one out sample-like the cdjs!)?

i have tons more questions, but i don't want to take up too much more of your time as this is quite a long post already!