"Phantom" reverb settings for mixing vocals?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
MarcAaron

"Phantom" reverb settings for mixing vocals?

Post by MarcAaron » Sat Nov 13, 2010 11:53 pm

I'm a newbie singer, trying to put what I've learned from lessons so far into some karaoke-style recordings in Live 8. I'm having a lot of problems with reverb. What I mean by "phantom" in my subject line, is that I don't want the reverb to be really noticeable unless it was taken away.

I've been going through Live's reverb device presets (Gentle Ambience, Large Hall, Medium Concert, etc.), looking for one that would be a good starting point that I could then tweak. But I haven't found one that's close to workable, even in the high quality setting mode. They all either make it sound like I'm singing in a tin can or standing in a deep canyon.

As far as starting from scratch, Googling "reverb settings and vocals" gives me an avalanche of links, none of which really answer my questions.

I found a YouTube video of an awesome singer doing the same song I'm trying to learn, and the vocals are exactly the sound I am trying to achieve. Any thoughts on they might have set up the reverb for this recording? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wqlcJSp20rw

Winterpark

Re: "Phantom" reverb settings for mixing vocals?

Post by Winterpark » Sun Nov 14, 2010 1:10 am

there is no magic-wand for reverb. it's going to require some tweaking depending on the track you are working with.

first, i'm assuming you're using it on a send/return, and not as an insert?...this will help, and allow you to adjust the wet/dry balance better.

secondly, you have to understand that reverb is a time based effect.... so it should really work with the tempo of your track. this is not to say that the pre-delay and decay time has to be the same tempo, but more that it sort of breathes with the tempo of the song.