Is there a way to cut and paste an entire section of a track

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
dalvare1
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 5:54 pm

Is there a way to cut and paste an entire section of a track

Post by dalvare1 » Tue Aug 30, 2011 7:38 pm

As in, when im in arrangement view, and I cut a section out, it doesnt take the automation with it, its left in place, and I have to do "copy envelope" on each different modulation and it takes forever.

Im trying to make space in a track and I figure there has to be a way to do this.

Any ideas? Thanks!

agent314
Posts: 1447
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:07 am

Re: Is there a way to cut and paste an entire section of a track

Post by agent314 » Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:05 pm

Edit > Insert Time (or Cut Time and Paste Time, etc.)

Although if you cut+paste sections normally, it should take the automation with it, no?

Angstrom
Posts: 14727
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to cut and paste an entire section of a track

Post by Angstrom » Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:05 pm

It should copy the envelopes too. Check that the little automatio padlock isn't toggled "lock automation".
That triggers the automation to be left where it is. Or not.

crumhorn
Posts: 2503
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:04 pm

Re: Is there a way to cut and paste an entire section of a track

Post by crumhorn » Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:13 pm

The Insert Time option is actually on the Create menu and it's called Insert Silence.

Took me a lot of head scratching to figure that one out.
"The banjo is the perfect instrument for the antisocial."

(Allow me to plug my guitar scale visualiser thingy - www.fretlearner.com)

Angstrom
Posts: 14727
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to cut and paste an entire section of a track

Post by Angstrom » Tue Aug 30, 2011 9:24 pm

I think I went about 3 years before I figured out that "insert silence" existed, and what it was.

agent314
Posts: 1447
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:07 am

Re: Is there a way to cut and paste an entire section of a track

Post by agent314 » Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:05 pm

The Insert Time option is actually on the Create menu and it's called Insert Silence.

Took me a lot of head scratching to figure that one out.
Ha! No shit?

I think I went about 3 years before I figured out that "insert silence" existed, and what it was.

Heh - this is me, right now

Hermanus
Posts: 1648
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Is there a way to cut and paste an entire section of a track

Post by Hermanus » Tue Aug 30, 2011 11:20 pm

EDIT menu, Duplicate Time :idea:

As mentioned before, cut time and past time also do the task

dalvare1
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 5:54 pm

Re: Is there a way to cut and paste an entire section of a track

Post by dalvare1 » Wed Aug 31, 2011 12:23 am

Angstrom wrote:I think I went about 3 years before I figured out that "insert silence" existed, and what it was.
YES

this is exactly what i needed

thx guys

Da hand
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Is there a way to cut and paste an entire section of a track

Post by Da hand » Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:10 am

Also mind the "lock envelopes" feature (the little padlock icon). Unlock envelopes if you want copy and paste to copy and paste the envelopes with the audio. Lock the envelopes if you want only the audio to be copied.

Piplodocus
Posts: 791
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:48 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Is there a way to cut and paste an entire section of a track

Post by Piplodocus » Wed Aug 31, 2011 10:01 am

As stated duplicate time will duplicate it straight after the part. If you want to put it somewhere else then as mentioned copy and paste DOES do envelopes as long as the automation lock is off. It's the padlock symbol that's right above the track names in arrangement view (to the right of the bar numbers and loop brace area).

Image

concept_control
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 3:57 pm

Re: Is there a way to cut and paste an entire section of a track

Post by concept_control » Wed Aug 31, 2011 10:13 am

You can also use a loop brace to mark an area for editing - copying / deleting etc. If you yank the brace over the area then (if I remember correctly) right click the brace itself it'll come up with with a context sensitive menu.

Post Reply