Recommend audio midi interface for new macbook pro (retina)

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
mooncaine

Recommend audio midi interface for new macbook pro (retina)

Post by mooncaine » Fri Aug 03, 2012 5:58 am

Can you recommend a good audio midi interface for new macbook pro (retina)? I got one issued to me by my groovy job, and I have to give back the old one. The new one doesn't have FireWire, so I can't use my (very awesome) PreSonus Firebox anymore.

The Firebox is perfect for me, except that now I can't use it on the new MBP. Can't find an adapter for Thunderbolt to FireWire.

I need audio and MIDI (real MIDI jacks, not just USB), and ideally at least 4 audio inputs and 1 mic input... and low latency, because I'm a guitarist and I'm already getting some latency when I do MIDI guitar.

Your recommendations much appreciated,

--moonie
:?:

Winterpark

Re: Recommend audio midi interface for new macbook pro (retina)

Post by Winterpark » Fri Aug 03, 2012 7:02 am

this may be a cheaper option...

thunderbolt to firewire adapter.
web | fb | sc | twt | bc

philipc

Post by philipc » Fri Aug 03, 2012 12:50 pm

Yeah, the adapter was just released a couple of days ago. Not heard of anyone who's tried it with an audio interface yet though. It's also worth noting that Apple's adapter is FW800 not 400, which is a pain since most audio interfaces have 400.
Last edited by philipc on Fri Aug 03, 2012 3:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

fishmonkey

Post by fishmonkey » Fri Aug 03, 2012 2:45 pm

it's been years since a Mac came with a Firewire 400 port. FW800 is completely backwards compatible, you just need an adaptor, or better a FW400 -> FW800 cable.

mooncaine

Post by mooncaine » Fri Aug 03, 2012 6:57 pm