Pros & cons of playing an instrument and knowing theory

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
EasyWorkflow

Pros & cons of playing an instrument and knowing theory

Post by EasyWorkflow » Mon Oct 26, 2015 7:10 am

If you don't like reading long posts, I get it so don't bother even starting. . But I think this is a worthwhile read if you have a few minutes.

OK...I am probably one of the oldest cats on this site at a young 53. I have been playing guitar for 38 years and due to a severe accident that almost killed me and left me with a serious traumatic brain injury, my Drs wanted me to start using my brain again and asked if I had any hobbies which were yes: Guitar & Chess. So last year I picked up a classical guitar figuring that playing Bach is as challenging as it gets and I enjoy classical music. I do play guitar in many genres including blues, hard rock, funk, heavy metal, Motown and even EDM. So after playing over 2000 games of chess on chess.com and playing 100s of hours of classical guitar, something wonderful happened and the music bug bit me and it bit so hard that I stopped playing chess and started putting all my time into playing guitar. I had a previous home studio but sold all my gear and quit gigging in 2008. So I decided it was time and build a new home studio.

Long story short, I stumbled on Ableton's site by accident, saw it was a DAW, made for musicians for both recording and gigging, saw Push and I was sold. That was in February 2015 The thing is, I couldn't even spell MIDI and this was the hardest thing I ever tried to learn. I almost quit after 5 months. I didn't even go near arrangement view until a month ago so I could render a track and put it on SoundCloud.