Getting a full synth sound in Ableton Live 9 Suite

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
ccg123

Getting a full synth sound in Ableton Live 9 Suite

Post by ccg123 » Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:56 am

Happy new year,

I am very new to the whole music production thing and finding it difficult to get the synth sound I want...

I'm using Ableton Live 9 Suite and the Analogue instrument. I've been playing around with the Filter Envelope on a single oscillator mostly.

But no matter what settings and devices I use, all my synths sound very 'buzzy'. How do I get a cleaner sound with more colour?

I don't know whether to tweak the Analogue settings or use audio effects to get the sound I want.

Any recommendations/suggestions would be very much appreciated.

yur2die4

Re: Getting a full synth sound in Ableton Live 9 Suite

Post by yur2die4 » Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:01 am

Maybe you want some thicker sounds. Try the Uni/detune parameters (there are extra unison settings in the window also)

Maybe detuning the two main oscillators, or adding just a little noise to get an analog sounding ffffft for your filter to work off of.

ccg123

Post by ccg123 » Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:04 am

So, I can get the desired effect mostly from the Analogue settings? Or should I be focusing on compressor or distortion effects?

SuburbanThug

Post by SuburbanThug » Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:14 pm

You might as well throw an eq, saturator, and compressor on there and see if you get results. Often when I'm working with a simple single oscillator sound I will employ all three to get the desired results from any soft synth. If you aren't well accustomed to using the effects then try one at a time. Even the nicest oscillators can benefit from a little saturation or reverb. Don't forget to use the return tracks to see what magic a little reverb or delay can bring.

login

Post by login » Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:20 pm