Learning a controller/instrument pays off so much!!!

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
EasyWorkflow

Learning a controller/instrument pays off so much!!!

Post by EasyWorkflow » Fri Sep 02, 2016 5:56 am

Hello friends....I am a guitarist of 40 years so guitar is my primary instrument & controller because of my wireless MIDI pickup. This message is for the younger, upcoming artists/producers who want to make a full time living in music production, DJing or gigging with Ableton.

This comes to mind because I know a 26 year old rapper going to SAE in NYC for 9 months. They provided him with Apple Laptop and Arturia Controller.

My best advice for him was just two thoughts. Please feel free and add others as you see fit and I will pass them on. Better yet, I will send him a link to this thread because of how important this topic is

1.) SAE provides you copies of (Pro Tools, Logic & Ableton) and gets you familiar with their unique features. In my humble opinion as a newbie in Ableton, you first should pick one DAW and master it. I believe if you play an instrument and want to produce & gig, Ableton really is the only game in town. But logic kicks ass too.

2.) He needs to understand that he does not own an Arturia 25 key controller but a Steinway Grand Piano. I told him to take keyboard lessons because three things will happen without him consciously aware of it.

* develop muscle memory and within 2 years tops, play any major, minor or 7th chord. The seven modes, Circle of 4ths, 5ths, arpeggios etc. BASIC MUSIC THEORY.
* finger dexterity automatically improves once a teacher has you running scales and arpeggios up and down the board.
* And most important in my book, he will learn the most basic of music theory which I can not begin to tell how imuch it has helped me from a single semester of music theory in my freshman year of college, 1980. I have only added to those building blocks past 37 years.