Scene Name included in new recorded clip name.

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
ned rush
Posts: 402
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:45 pm
Contact:

Scene Name included in new recorded clip name.

Post by ned rush » Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:54 pm

If you have tracks that are named a certain way, and you record a new clip, then that track name gets included into the name of the new clip, but from what ive just worked out, not the scene name....


So, I can't say, for example, have my 4 tracks, 1 Kick, 2 Snare, 3 Hat, 4 Room, and my scenes intro, verse chorus, and not get the scene name included into the newly recorded clip names?

If not, WHY NOT?!?!

What if I want to use scenes as takes, so i can see which tracks are clearly from which take?

Sure, it prefixes the clip with a number to indicate the increments at which a new clip has been recorded, but that can go out of sync with other clips if you record a single clip separate from the others.

Basically, what I want to do is setup a multitrack session and use the scenes for takes, and have Ableton auto name the tracks and takes.

But it looks like it wont.

Unless somehow can tell me how?

Thanks

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2084
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Scene Name included in new recorded clip name.

Post by [jur] » Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:56 am

Why not? Because otherwise you won't ever have to deal with M4L :-)

I'm moving this to the Feature Wishlist forum so we can keep track of this good idea.
Ableton Forum Moderator

ned rush
Posts: 402
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Scene Name included in new recorded clip name.

Post by ned rush » Mon Jan 23, 2017 10:48 am

[jur] wrote:Why not? Because otherwise you won't ever have to deal with M4L :-)

I'm moving this to the Feature Wishlist forum so we can keep track of this good idea.
Ah. I already posted a new thread on the same subject in the feature request forum. Now there's two threads on the same subject.

Post Reply