Basic advice on audio driver for PC

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Crumb$

Basic advice on audio driver for PC

Post by Crumb$ » Sun Mar 10, 2024 4:14 pm

Hi,

I'm just starting to learn Ableton. I don't usually work with DAW's but I travel a lot and am starting to rely on VST's and a Keystep Pro.

I've got Ableton Live Lite v11.3.21 installed on a Windows 11 laptop. I could do with a little bit of advice here as to the best setup for the audio driver.

As it stands I can choose MME/DirectX or ASIO. If I choose MME/Direct X, I can switch from Ableton to a youtube video without any loss of audio (which is great because I'm often in need of some guidance as I learn how to use it) but the latency when playing my midi keyboard is unusable. If I switch to ASIO the latency comes down to 24ms and is much better for playing the keyboard. The only problem here is that I then loose the audio from the web browser.

The third option I have is to use my Focusrite 2i2. This is almost my preference because I can plug my headphones in to it and control the volume much easier. Only problem is, there seems to be more latency using this method than I expected. Not terrible, but not as good as using the ASIO driver.

Maybe I'm already using the correct technique here but as I'm new to it I wanted to check on the forum. Any advice is appreciated.

Tarekith

Re: Basic advice on audio driver for PC

Post by Tarekith » Sun Mar 10, 2024 5:14 pm

Did you install the latest ASIO driver for the Focusrite? That should be your best option.

Crumb$

Post by Crumb$ » Mon Mar 11, 2024 12:35 am

No, I hadn't been able to get the focusrite to work with the installed ASIO driver. Let me have a look in to this.... thanks!

Tarekith

Post by Tarekith » Mon Mar 11, 2024 12:47 am

Go to the Focusrite site and make sure you download and install the latest and greatest what works with your sound card. That's step one :)

CryptoJimBo

Post by CryptoJimBo » Mon Mar 11, 2024 4:09 am