ticks at 1/64th? Can Live do this?

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
Robert
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 9:01 pm

ticks at 1/64th? Can Live do this?

Post by Robert » Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:48 pm

In the Dance Music Manual, the author recommends moving some elements by a tick, which as far as I can tell is 1/64th. But when I look at the options in Live, the smallest level seems to be 1/32nd.

Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance for your assistance

Robert

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:53 pm

I think the book is referring to midi notes and such. Yes, you can easily do that, by zooming in in the midi editor, and using ctrl/cmd+ buttons 1,2,3 and 4?
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

amo
Posts: 1685
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 10:30 am
Location: Paris/France
Contact:

Post by amo » Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:53 pm

Hi,

When editing in Live, you can go much more accurate than that. Create a midi clip, and right clic in it to select a grid value, and see !
Cheers,
amo
Live 5.0.3 - IBM Thinkpad R51 1.5ghz Centrino - 1,5 Go RAM - 7200 RPM 2nd HDD intern - RME Multiface - Windows XP Pro SP2

henry ford
Posts: 690
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 4:30 am

Post by henry ford » Tue Oct 25, 2005 11:17 am

depends on the version of live you are using

4 could only go to 32ns , 5 can go to 1/4264 ...or something in the 4 thousands anyways. which is great,

hoffman2k
Posts: 14717
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Tue Oct 25, 2005 11:20 am

henry ford wrote:depends on the version of live you are using

4 could only go to 32ns , 5 can go to 1/4264 ...or something in the 4 thousands anyways. which is great,
Do you know what you are talking about?
Live 4 can go to 1/16384....

Use the zoom ;)

henry ford
Posts: 690
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 4:30 am

Post by henry ford » Tue Oct 25, 2005 11:28 am

heh , i knew it was some large frikkin number :roll:

unfortunatley , or possibly fortunately , my internet connection is 15 km away from my live5 pc.......so when i'm posting im trying to remember =)

hoffman2k
Posts: 14717
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Tue Oct 25, 2005 11:49 am

henry ford wrote:heh , i knew it was some large frikkin number :roll:

unfortunatley , or possibly fortunately , my internet connection is 15 km away from my live5 pc.......so when i'm posting im trying to remember =)
Still... your assumptions about Live 4 where incorrect.
I'm just trying to clear up any confusion here.

henry ford
Posts: 690
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 4:30 am

Post by henry ford » Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:34 pm

"Live 4 can go to 1/16384.... "

no shit? the version i used couldnt. for some reason i couldnt zoom that far.

icedsushi
Posts: 1652
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:36 pm

Post by icedsushi » Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:51 pm

Hey guys, how about audio clips and snap value when dragging stuff around on the arrange page? I can only see divisions down to like a 32nd when I zoom the whole way into a clip.

hoffman2k
Posts: 14717
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Wed Oct 26, 2005 5:00 pm

icedsushi wrote:Hey guys, how about audio clips and snap value when dragging stuff around on the arrange page? I can only see divisions down to like a 32nd when I zoom the whole way into a clip.
Right-click or use the key-commands.

icedsushi
Posts: 1652
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:36 pm

Post by icedsushi » Wed Oct 26, 2005 5:15 pm

cool thanks, I'll give it a whirl

Robert
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 9:01 pm

thanks guys

Post by Robert » Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:40 pm

Lord I am so dumb! It was staring me right in the face!

Thanks for your help.

Robert

Locked